We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great amenities. Solid value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Things I love about this hotel: free wifi, breakfast, location, and parking. Great value for the area. Just bring earplugs if a light sleeper since it’s right on the 405 ($2 at Walmart is your best friend if a lightsleeper). Love staying here and staff is accommodating. It was my 3rd time: I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the 405.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 559 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here at the last moment and had to find a place for one night. We had to wait an hour to check in as neither of the offered rooms were ready. They offered to store our bags so I had to struggle with 3 cases across the hotel while the attendant walked ahead of me. When I finally asked for help through a door he seemed surprised! The freeway noise was so loud we had to shout when out by the pool. We decided to forgo that swim. The room smelt stale and the bath took a few hours to drain. The beds looked clean and pretty new but the rest of the hotel was awful. They offered a free brekafast but apparently many of the guests think free means "all you can eat for the day" as I watched a number of groups load up with heaps of stuff and go back to their rooms. The staff watching didnt seem bothered at all. If you want a cheap hotel close to South Coast Plaza and dont care about a loud, poorly run hotel this is for you.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband & I stayed at this location July 22 & 23, 2011, we had come from Colorado for a business conference (at another hotel) and stayed a couple extra days for pleasure (moved from the other hotel to this hotel). I almost always stay at La Quinta's mainly for the free Internet and breakfast included.

First thing we noticed as we are walking up the stairs to our room is the near deafening sound of the 405 Freeway that we now realize we are almost on top of - okay, my fault for not paying more attention to the location when I booked it. Lesson learned.

Well, after we checked in we could not connect to the Internet, so I called the front desk and he said he would re-set the router "that usually takes care of it" .... so right away I know this is an ongoing problem. At least twenty minutes later I can still not connect, call the front desk again and he informs me that he had not done it yet. I gave up and went to bed - frustrated.

The next morning we go to the lobby area for breakfast. It is a total zoo !! First, the selection of available food was the worst I had, by FAR, EVER seen at a La Quinta ... with Eggo-type waffles, tiny cartons of apple & orange juice, no cereal, no forks, 3 bagels total, 1 bag of instant oatmeal, 2 toasters that were broken/not working so we couldn't even toast our Eggo waffle, piece of toast or bagel. Staff trying to be helpful between actually running over to throw some food in the bins and the tiny fridge and then running back to the front desk, and as soon as they put the small amount of food down, it was gone. Swarms of people squeezed into this extremely too small of a space with tables so close together that you were touching the elbow of the person next to you, or as I chose to do ... I ate standing up right inside the front doors of the lobby. It was Awful !!!

We then gather our things in our room for the day out, put the "Do Not Disturb" card in the key slot and leave. We come back many hours later ("Do Not Disturb" card still in key slot) to find a dirty, oily workers rag on the desk (next to my laptop computer) !!!! I immediately call the front desk and tell them what I just found - he had no explanation for me other than, "Maybe they were checking to see if you checked out". I was outraged ! A little while later we go to bed and I realize that the TV in the room had been changed out along with a different remote. Guess that was more important to this place than My Privacy !!

The next morning my husband went down earlier to the breakfast thinking that might help - no such luck - chaos all over again. We immediately checked out and left - NOT to return - Ever !!

Did I forget to mention the pieces of dog food we found all over the floor in the room??

Room Tip: Stay in a room that DOES NOT face the 405 Freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hotel sits a stones throw from 405,so naturally there will be some noise.Our room had double pane windows which shut out most noise...room smelled a little stale..but got used to it..my chief complaint was we arrived at 930 tired and sleepy....window air unit blowing cool air.....no knobs on unit and wall thermostat not working.Called down stairs explaining to young lady not working correctly,,,,kept telling my wife same thing over and over.."KNOBS" turn them....lol There are none!!! Said I'll be up in a minute..... nevershowed!!!! We slept ok that night...next day told them about problem....this time they were pretty quick to respond..different people different attitudes!!!!! Breakfast was fine, located next to Hooters, so that was fine,:-).........overall it was ok,

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goirish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was a terrific place to stay. There was a really nice and accommodating front desk man named Tyronne who went above and beyond the call of duty. The shower, room, and breakfast was great, and we couldn't beat the price. Overall a great experience, especially thanks to Tyronne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJ1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel staffers are friendly. Room is clean. Location is noisy ....next to busy freeway :(

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I needed to stay one night in Orange County so I decided to cruise on over to the La Quinta in Costa Mesa, which is close to the John Wayne airport and the South Coast Plaza. The hotel is located right on the 405 freeway and Harbor. It's a bit noisy with all the traffic going by all the time but what else can you expect when staying next to the freeway. The rooms are as expected, not glamorous but in good shape and with enough appointments. The lobby and pool area are nice also. The room includes breakfast which has the usual stuff but I didn't have any of the offerings. Others seemed to enjoy it. The unfortunate thing was that my room was in an area where the internet router was not working very well. I couldn't get a good internet connection. I called the support desk for the internet but the support guy couldn't help me. I tried to contact the front desk and they too tried to do some things but they did not work out either. The next morning when I was checking out the clerk asked me if the internet problem worked out. I replied that it did not but I was able to use it in the lobby. To my surprise she removed 10 dollars from my bill due to the internet problem. I think that was a nice gesture and worth mentioning. I wish some other hotels would take notice of these kinds of things. I give them an excellent in service due to this. They couldn't get the internet to work in my room so they removed 10 dollars off of the bill without even asking for a discount or anything. Now they are on the top of my hotel list in this area.

Room Tip: Stay here for a reasonably priced and decent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoobNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
3.9 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.6 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
2.5 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
398 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 1515 S Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529 (Formerly La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $72 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing