We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can put lipstick on a pig, but it is still a pig.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can put lipstick on a pig, but it is still a pig.”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This converted Holiday Inn has a nice new paint job, however there are many things that are out of sorts in my opinion. When was the last time you stayed at a hotel that did not offer coffee makers in the room? When we were there we went into the on site dining facility which was actually a bar with a few tables, our party was about 15 or so but they would not reposition the tables so we all could sit together. Said fire code and the ability to walk around which was laughable as to my count we were just about to the number the only ones in the place. The filet was the worst I've seen in such an establishment small and tough actually it was more like a round steak. The creme brulee was ice cold and overall portions were what one would expect upon a childs menu. How is it possible you have High Def televisions in the rooms projecting "blurr o vision", no High Def channels at all. Then insult to injury this establishment would not extend the corporate rate for an additional day even though no one was checked in just mind boggling.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IJustExpectmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    185
    71
    18
    21
See reviews for
103
137
44
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Stayed just one night at the Hotel Hanford, but it was enough to get a taste of this lovely place. We were told that construction is almost totally complete at the hotel, though we didn't notice any noise or obstruction. This place looks new and smells new -- the latter might offend some. So if you have a sensitive nose, maybe stay at the Hilton down the street. We chose Hanford because we don't like huge chain hotels.

The staff are very nice and accommodating. I think they must be much less stressed now that construction is about complete. The rooms are nice, too! We stayed on a top-floor king room and LOVED the bed and the bathroom.

Had Happy Hour drinks and tapas -- yummy and well priced!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lomigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Having stayed at this hotel several times in the past while travelling on business from the East Coast, I can honestly say that the owners have done a fantastic job with all of the improvements and the complete makeover of the hotel. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCEsquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

This place had the worst customer service of any hotel I've ever stayed at! The front desk staff were ill-equipped to handle even the slightest request. When I asked to speak with a manager, (while checking in!) I was told no one was available! I would have left and stayed elsewhere, but I had pre-paid online and of course, no refunds! Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OChalfmarathonrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Hotel Hanford boasts of spending $7 million in upgrades during 2009-10. Except for a large ramp built at the entrance to the lobby and fluorescent lamps in all fixtures, the "improvements" appear to be mostly cosmetic, adding nothing functional. As someone explained to me, "What do you expect? This is Southern California: Everything is superficial!"

Even strategies which might have improved the hotel's bottom line, such as low-flow shower heads or a laundry reduction program, were neglected.

In past years, when we stayed in this hotel -- known then as Holiday Inn -- we found a comfortable room complete with refrigerator and coffee maker. Now the refrigerator is absent and the coffee maker was brought only upon special request. During our five day stay I had to beg for the coffee refills every day, while in other hotels it is brought to the room automatically. (Would it have anything to do with the fact that room service charges $2.75 for a cup of coffee?) We missed the refrigerator especially since the only ice machine was five stories below.

As for the bathroom, there were no garment hooks and, unlike most hotels, there was a long wait for hot water (again, wasteful.) In the room, the lighting was not good for reading and the only way to view the TV was to lie in the bed.

Cosmetic as was the remodeling, the lobby is now cold and colorless with lots of hard surfaces and sharp corners...not at all warm and welcoming.

It could have been a coincidence, but both my wife and I, immediately upon returning home, suffered from coughing, nasal congestion and sore trachea -- all symptoms of "sick building syndrome" -- after spending five nights in that hotel room exposed to new carpeting, plastic furniture and a gigantic ugly headboard covered with vinyl.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldSolArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHanfordGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear OldSolArizona,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay with us. As a new boutique hotel we take pride in offering the best products to our guests. To that end we made the decision to offer our guests fresh brewed Starbucks Coffee delivered to their rooms from 6:00 am to 10:00 pm rather than have in room coffee makers. On each bed is coffee card with up to ten different coffee and tea creations for our guest's enjoyment. refrigerators are available upon requst and are quickly delivered to our guest rooms.

The new rooms and lobby are a wonderful departure from the very dated and predictable style of the previous hotel. All of the room furniture was custom made for us and is of fine quality and workmanship. I can assure you that nothing in the room is plastic, The armoire is solid wood as is the desk. The fabric covered headboard and footboard is of great quality and a wonderful additon to the guest room. The new lobby space is sleek and clean with elegant lines and soothing soft texures. Many improvements have been added to the rooms including an organic line of bathroom amenitites in biodegradable pouches, thermostat control air and heat as well as thermostat controlled shower fixtures.

We at The Hotel Hanford stand behind the changes that we have made and the ones still in planning and are very proud to offer our guests a wonderful alternative in the Costa Mesa area. As for the "sick building syndrome" we have had wonderfully high levels of occupancy and this is the first incident of the kind I have heard of. I certainly hope that you and your wife are feeling better.

Again thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2010

A wonderful refurbishment of what used to be a dated facility. As of the end of July the east wing is undergoing refurbishment while the west wing is complete and fully open. Photos on Expedia, Travelocity etc are old. Look at the Hanford Hotel website to get the actual new look. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast offering, far better than the "Corporate" hotels. Wireless is available and complimentary as is parking. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecnz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We were a bit apprehensive after booking this hotel and being told that refurbishment was sit does till underway....but we needn't have worried. No disturbances of any sort. The entrance is quite grand and made a refreshing change from Holiday Inn Express's and Travelodge type bland corporate image. Rooms were very nice and clean and the carpets in the hallways were obviously new. The free breakfast was served in a georgeous and huge restaurant - and lived up to the class image of the hotel. It was served at the table by staff who had impeccable manners. Well presented and tasty - apart from the croissants which tasted a bit odd. The outside pool isn't huge and because of the cool weather we didn't try it - but the kids went in the hot pool which they enjoyed. Free newspaper was an unexpected bonus. We paid $130 per night and felt that this hotel was certainly worth a lot more in light of the excellent breakfast. Sadly, because of time constraints we didn't use the shuttle to the shopping centres, but they were, by car, just minutes away. Last evening we had a meal in the restaurant - and on being served the hard bread rolls we thought we'd made a blunder...but the steak meal was superb! Well done chef!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyOvFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
845 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing