We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Checked in for one night (wish it was more) so we could hang out at the OC beaches. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. Gave us the low down on places to go. Our room was sooo comfortable. They are a little small but the coziness, the cleanliness, the nice bathroom and view overlooking the pool could not be beat. Absolutely loved staying here and cannot wait to go back! Wish we had time to hang out in the hot tub and heated pool as it looked very inviting. Another plus is it is close to John Wayne airport and across the street from South Coast Plaza, which we did not have enough time to shop at but will next time. :) Very clean, nice hotel and a great rate!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kates_family11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    177
    69
    18
    21
See reviews for
101
130
44
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently spent two nights at this hotel while attending a wedding nearby. The rooms were spotless and of a reasonable size. Bed was quite comfortable. Location is right off 405 and is less than 10 minutes away from the Orange County (SNA) Airport. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sr6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent three nights here on a business conference - and was not disappointed.

Check in was quick and smooth.

The room I was allocated was of a good size - and appeared to have been recently refurbished to a modern, high standard. The bathroom deserves particular praise - excellent power shower!

(I understand that the whole hotel has been refurbished recently)

There is a nice pool area at the back of the hotel, with a smallish gym.

All members of staff I encountered were always willing to help and were very knowledgeable.

The other beauty of this whotel is that its literally a 10 minute walk away from the South Coast Plaza Mall with all the shops and eateries it has to offer.

I wouldn't come to Costa Mesa on a personal trip - but this is an excellent hotel and would certainly look to stay here again on any future business trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

From the front desk to the bartender Tiffeny, the restaurant manager Steve, the security personnel, Jeremy and the wait staff excellent service and always with a smile.. The bar and restaurant area are very nice and the fire pits outside make for a nice area to relax.. I gave the rooms a 4 bc at least the one I had was overlooking the backyards of some homes that were not maintained very well .. I don't think it's something that the crowne can fix outside of throwing a big tarp over the neighborhood lol. I would def stay again just ask for a room on the other side!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kissmyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Level Contributor
382 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has changed names over the years, but has now been rebranded as a Crowne Plaza. And it is excellent. Comfortable, clean rooms and a very obliging staff who actually seem to care about their guests - such a breath of fresh air compared to the increasingly dodgy Hilton Costa Mesa over the road (where I have also stayed on occasion). The Crowne Plaza is undoubtedly THE place to stay in the John Wayne Airport/ South Coast Plaza area!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Well worth coming to stay in this hotel. Large, comfortable room, spotlessly clean, with good amenities, such as a spray to help you sleep, and revitalising foot balm.
Lovely rain shower too.
Staff were very helpful.
Parking is free, unlike the Hilton across the road (which is also more expensive).
Breakfast is $11.50 (Hilton is $22!!!).
I'd happily stay here again.
One slight damper is that the air conditioning unit is very noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is clean, pleasant, and the food is decent. The free shuttle to and from the airport, and to neighboring sites was convenient. What sets this hotel apart is the service. The banquet staff, especially Antonio, was efficient, and accommodating. Imelda and Chris at the front desk were friendly and went out of their way to answer questions and offer help. The shuttle drivers, Omar and Gregory, were also friendly and helpful. If I am ever in Costa Mesa again, I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLChan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing