We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed over the road at the very tired Holton Costa Mesa for years, but decided to climb out of the safety zone and cross the road to the Crowne, especially as I just joined the Gold Ambassador Club. best thing I did for ages. Flew into LAX from Australia, arrived at hotel 8.30am. No problem at all checking into a room at that hour!! Received the Club upgrade. Given breakfast voucher to use them, plus another for the next day, plus another drink voucher, all for a single night stay. Staff were great, room was nice enough for the location (and price), pool was good, all in all, they have me for life!! Well done Crowne.

Room Tip: go the upgrade with Gold Ambassador Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 696 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have completely enjoyed our Thanksgiving holiday.
Our stay was great as the staff is very sweet and helpful. The room was very nice , clean, and comfy. We have stayed for 4 evenings and we were able to enjoy the hotels restaurant the Savoy. The food is scrumptious and service excellent. Our server favorites were Ana on Thanksgiving evening then Ashley and Brenda the next evening. All in all this hotel restaurant and all the employees get a 5 star vote from us! Really loved our stay.!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank janiemygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Ashley is an awesome bartender/ waitress. she has a great personality, and a memory like an Elephant and the food was excellent also , the rooms are nice and clean and hotel is close to our destination. I wish they gave more discounts through the Internet clcdws

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank clcdws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times and it has always been a good experience.

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful.

In the bar, Ashley is amazing. She remembered my name and drinks after only having been here once before a few months previous!


The food is good, the rooms clean and quiet. Overall, its a nice place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Marglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My favorite part of the hotel is the bar.... Love the holiday spirit. I have stayed here for a few days now and it's been super mellow and chill. Extra close to mall to shop. Ashley and Elizabeth, thx for the hospitality... Tis the season

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Frank92612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The staff was awesome very attentive to my requests. The rooms were more then accommodating. The banquet staff especially Oscar Guzman, did a spectacular job. The onsite restaurant and bar also provided incredible service, Ron, Javier, Ashley stellar. We used the shuttle where Omar was punctual which made our excursions to dinner perfect

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank CathiGrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have stayed here twice now. Used to stay at the Westin up the street but they got so expensive! I actually like this hotel better. Its newly remodeled and modern but still cozy. The beds are comfortable and everything is always clean. The staff is really nice and they have great perks here! Free wifi. Free parking (well, it was free last year and free valet this year due to construction but I guess its usually $10 now). A complimentary shuttle to the mall...and you can schedule it to take you elsewhere if its close by. Its also walking distance to some other little places in the area.

Haven't tried the food so I can't say anything about that....but the room service pricing isnt offensive like most places. I have stayed on the bristol street side and did not have a noise issue. Maybe it just depends which room it is? I personally love this hotel and don't understand why its been so empty when I'm here. Of course the lack of crowds/noise is nice though :) I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
859 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $115 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing