We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Costa Mesa, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a clean and friendly hotel!
The location is near to the shopping mall and a lot of good restaurant.
The rate is excellent, too.
If you go Orange County, you need to stay at the CROWNE PLAZA, COSTA MESA.
YOU WILL LOVE IT.
Susie
North Hollywood, California

Room Tip: Pool view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 701 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel, staff and overall cleanliness of the hotel. During a very busy OC marathon weekend, and a convention group, the hotel managed to keep an air of quiet calm.
Front desk staff were attentive and sweet, the breakfast buffet was quite good. Centrally located & a few minutes drive from South Coast Plaza Mall. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruinBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I arrived from Latin America after a grueling trip and I met one of the friendliest front office team ready to check me in. Frank Atayde and Chris made me feel so at home with their well mannered and courteous service. Frank is a thorough professional & has indepth knowledge of the Priority Club reward program and how to treat loyal customers which was very refreshing as this was my 4th IHG hotel in a row in the last 2 weeks. Was feeling pretty hungry and decided for late night meal at the bar where I met Ashley, the friendly bartender with great people skills and a permanent smile. Ashley has a great personality & truly enjoys her job and customers & it's the way to go in the hospitality business. Breakfast was a horror the next day and has been so ever since mainly because the breakfast team doesn't have a clue of what service is. Had to get some business document sorted out and the front office managers Andrew and Erin were extremely helpful. I will keep staying in this property because of these remarkable people, but a training on interpersonal skills for the breakfast team has to be conducted urgently. The breakfast needs complete overhaul in presentation & delivery.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Gideon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Most recently stay here; I received excellent service and rooms. As a fact, it’s really nice hotel to stay in Costa Mesa, all people are in Hotel really good and wonderful service.

Especially thanks to Frank and Lounce, they always helped me entire stay in hotel.

I plan to stay at same location...without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa is a nice spot for a quality stay.

I stayed in a executive suite king room and it was great. The bed was very comfortable and the room was wonderfully clean. The hotel overall is decorated in a very trendy style and the atmosphere was excellent.

From other reviews I had read, I was a little concerned about the noise factor, but this did not materialize at all. The main street out front is very busy, but with the window shades shut, I did not hear anything above the level of gentle white noise. I did stay on weeknights, so it could be worse on a weekend night, but I don't think noise is overall a big problem here.

The room was spacious and comfortable. The only potential topic of discussion is the size of the closet. It was sufficiently sizable, but for more than a few days, the closet might be a tad small. The free in room wifi was great! A nice surprise compared to the $12 plus dollar daily charge of some of their competition.

The staff was excellent on all fronts! The front desk, room service and restuarant staff were all very friendly and helpful. If you are in town for business or pleasure, thye will help make your stay enjoyable.

Overall, I would say the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa is a solid choice and a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Elizabeth at the front desk you are awesome!!! After traveling on the road for 8 hours and seeing the same sleepy faces all day it was nice to have an warm and inviting welcome to the hotel. She allowed me to do an early check in and checked me in with no issues what so ever. People who genuinely love their job, provide great service, and do it with a smile should definitely be recognized and I believe she should be applauded for what she does! Thank you for providing such a wonderful stay! P.S your light up vanity mirror is awesome and is a girls gift from heaven when doing make up. Great addition!! Lol

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while visiting family. This has to be one of the cleanest, relaxing hotels we have ever stayed at. Check in was very fast and easy. The employees at this location are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We also had a wonderful complimentary breakfast in the restaurant. Our room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The only thing that I would suggest is for new doors on the bathrooms that actually lock and an exhaust fan in the bathroom as well. Other than that, our stay was perfect! Will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: If you are booking your room online, make sure you call the hotel directly for any special requests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
867 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $107 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing