We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Reading the previous reviews, I was torn whether to stay at the Crowne Plaza or the Westin...
I definitely made the right choice!!
This hotel is very modern, chic and elegant!
The lobby is beautiful, and the restaurant has a very classy ambiance.
Some had written about the hall ways needing a little updating and I agree.
The rooms are VERY nice and clean! I had an executive king suite and it was spacious! Beds very comfy, bathroom is excellent and again extremely clean!!
There's even great soaps, shampoo's and conditioners!
A little treat that I found so fun was a little sleep tight kit- soothing lotions and a spray that has essential oils to help you rest well... Love it!
Well done Crowne Plaza!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ames3778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    159
    62
    15
    19
See reviews for
96
122
42
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently had a wonderful stay at the newly remodeled Crown Plaza. The staff was extremely
friendly and attentive especially Jorge at the front desk. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Both the pool and hot tub were heated which made for a nice experience on those chilly evenings. Also, the food was outstanding in their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerscubed
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here a week for business. Was given a room in the "Executive" wing. Nice and quiet! Entire room was very clean. The bed was really comfortable with lots of pillows to choose from. The room had a sofa bed as well. Nice not to always have to sit on the bed or in the desk chair. Bathroom was large enough with a super shower - one of those rain shower heads. There was also a hand held shower head, if you wanted to use that. Water drained well from the tub! (Nothing worse than standing in inches of dirty water.) They offered average amenities of shampoo, conditioner, hand cream, and soap.
I was surprised that the room did not have a little refrigerator. They do have them as an extra you can request for $10/day. They took this off my bill at the end for being an Ambassador member.
The front desk and all the staff were excellent - pleasant and efficient. The hotel is near a huge mall (South Coast Plaza) with lots of upscale designer stores. Name a designer and they are probably represented. There is a shuttle that will take/return you. Area is nice - I felt quite safe.

I ate the breakfast buffet daily. It was the usual eggs, bacon (really good!), potatoes, breads, etc... All was hot and fresh, just not much variety. I did eat in the restaurant for lunch and had room service twice. All meals were delivered as promised and hot or cold as the meal required.

The work out room was fine. I only used the treadmill. They provide towels, water, and TV. Did not use the pool.

I will definitely stay here again. I already have another reservation here in a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerscubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days on business. It has a nice location next to the mall for evening dinners and to just waste some time. The breakfast buffet was good, but I didn't eat any other meals there. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. It does have shuttle service to/from the SNA airport. Supposedly, the shuttle also runs to anywhere in Costa Mesa, but every time I asked they were too busy so I ended up taking a cab.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was on a business trip. Stayed there for a week. Got a surprise bottle of red wine and fruit plate when checked in the room. The King bed is very nice. The service crew were fantastic. A guy from front deck Grant is really good and very helpful. I would stay there again. Only improvement can make is to make different stuff for breakfast.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Working in a hotel myself, I have to say I was thoroughly impressed with the entire stay; the room was immaculate, the setup was accessible and comfortable, the amenities were on par, the bed was SO COMFORTABLE, it was quiet and just aesthetically pleasing overall. Check in and check out we're smooth and efficient with great personalities at the front desk. Andrew and Jorge were stellar at their job. The wedding reception venue was awesome--the staff was incredible. Food was so delicious it was hard to not overfill. I'd totally come back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GravesCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Level Contributor
279 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice lobby area and restaurant. Great bar service (thanks Rachel and Eddy). Very friendly staff. Some of the public areas, like hallways and elevators, definitely need improvement but the room was very nice/new looking. Heat/A-C did not work properly. View out my window was the pool, and someone's back yard. Pretty convenient to most of my meetings in Orange County, but not in an area where you can walk around to either shop or grab some dinner. Check-in took way too long, but I was given a free drink coupon for my trouble (I didn't complain, they just offered it). Probably one of the best hotels available at the price point - it was very affordable for the area, probably the same price as a nearby La Quinta or Holiday Inn Express, but with the amenities of a full service hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear MangaMan,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our public area condition and customer service from the front desk. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing