We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Crowne Plaza - used to be the Hotel Hanford - Costa Mesa, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
627 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Crowne Plaza - used to be the Hotel Hanford - Costa Mesa, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I'm giving the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa a Very Good overall rating, but I had to stop and think because some parts of it are only average. We have stayed there (Hotel Hanford) at least 4 times in the past two years. It's in a fabulous area of Costa Mesa very close to a great shopping mall and close to the freeway and not far from the beach!
Our room was clean and nice, as always. The desk in our room is getting old and "used" looking with scratches on front of the drawer. The carpet is starting to look older. And there is still NO bathroom fan, so we brought our own fan. We were on the fourth floor this time, and the carpet from our room to the elevator had some stains on it and it looked old and loose. I do not like old looking carpet in hotels.
The lobby and restaurant looks immaculate, as always. The front desk staff is always top notch.
I just hope they do not let the carpet or paint get OLD LOOKING. Keep it upgraded, Crowne Plaza! Keep the good quality.

Room Tip: The noise control is great. Go look at your room first. Also it gets pretty foggy now so close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    159
    62
    15
    19
See reviews for
96
122
42
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

No complaints. I wish I had an excuse to stay another night at the crown plaza. Everyone working there had a smile and were available to answer any questions as well as follow up with me when passing through the main lobby. Matthew, the white Denzel, was very courteous and pleasant to have a conversation with and Jennifer Riveria was able to assist me with a few issues I had with billing. She dealt with my frustrations in a very professional manner and was expedient with the issue at hand. I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed here for two days and was really surprised by just about everything. The room was great and the shower was particularly nice. The restaurant, which I had breakfast and dinner twice was very good, although I wasn't crazy about the Western/Denver omelette. The fitness center is open 24 hours and is decent. I found the staff always eager to go out of their way to provide service, emphasis on always.
To top it all off I got a great rate for an area that tends to be pricey.

Room Tip: The expressway is facing the front of the hotel, the back faces a quiet neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My favorite hotel traveling for business! Extremely comfortable and clean. Have stayed frequently and have never been disappointed. The decor is awesome andthe showers are great. I would recommend forthe business traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed a single night for a friends wedding at the Hotel. We paid in advance and made special note to have a room facing away from the freeway. Our stay started off with so-so service from the front desk. We mentioned our preference to stay away from the freeway and were met with some resistance. We were eventually given a room facing away from the freeway but the room had a view of a concrete wall which was disappointing. The decor of the room was nice. The remodel of the bathroom was really nice. The room's air-conditioner leaked onto the rug, we only noticed this the morning when we were leaving when it soaked my socks while attempting to close the blinds. The room had plenty of amenities including, an iron, coffee maker, desk mirror, etc. The service during the wedding was again so so. Wedding coordinator was super friendly and helpful. However the bartender was terrible, he was over charging and missing orders. Only when we asked for our change was it given. With two other Hotel employees standing next to him, you would have expected the service to be quicker as well.Overall we liked our stay and might be tempted to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the freeway. Rooms near the pool are nearer to the freeway. There is a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days after booking on Priceline to visit my in laws. Location right by 73 & 405 which was nice. decent fitness center for a non 5* hotel. The HVAC in the room was simply awful. Had to move rooms the first day. The next room was better but turned into the same issue. Unit freezes up, sounds like a diesel truck in the room, has a mind of its own regarding on/off and temp. Didn't get one decent night sleep. the staff is nice. But will not stay here again until I am assured of new cooling system.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week holiday in Southern California. The hotel is well maintained and the room well appointed. We could not find any information on the hotel anywhere in the room and so had to ask at reception about the gym/pool location and hours. The air conditioning is also very noisy and showing its age, even though the resyt of the room seemed quite up to date.

The free parking is great and plentiful and the location perfectly placed just by the I-405 and an easy drive to the coast. South Pacific Plaza is only a 10 minute easy walk away from the entrance.

Overall pretty good value for maney/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing