We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Now that was a surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Now that was a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed here for two days and was really surprised by just about everything. The room was great and the shower was particularly nice. The restaurant, which I had breakfast and dinner twice was very good, although I wasn't crazy about the Western/Denver omelette. The fitness center is open 24 hours and is decent. I found the staff always eager to go out of their way to provide service, emphasis on always.
To top it all off I got a great rate for an area that tends to be pricey.

Room Tip: The expressway is facing the front of the hotel, the back faces a quiet neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    167
    66
    16
    19
See reviews for
98
126
43
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My favorite hotel traveling for business! Extremely comfortable and clean. Have stayed frequently and have never been disappointed. The decor is awesome andthe showers are great. I would recommend forthe business traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed a single night for a friends wedding at the Hotel. We paid in advance and made special note to have a room facing away from the freeway. Our stay started off with so-so service from the front desk. We mentioned our preference to stay away from the freeway and were met with some resistance. We were eventually given a room facing away from the freeway but the room had a view of a concrete wall which was disappointing. The decor of the room was nice. The remodel of the bathroom was really nice. The room's air-conditioner leaked onto the rug, we only noticed this the morning when we were leaving when it soaked my socks while attempting to close the blinds. The room had plenty of amenities including, an iron, coffee maker, desk mirror, etc. The service during the wedding was again so so. Wedding coordinator was super friendly and helpful. However the bartender was terrible, he was over charging and missing orders. Only when we asked for our change was it given. With two other Hotel employees standing next to him, you would have expected the service to be quicker as well.Overall we liked our stay and might be tempted to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the freeway. Rooms near the pool are nearer to the freeway. There is a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days after booking on Priceline to visit my in laws. Location right by 73 & 405 which was nice. decent fitness center for a non 5* hotel. The HVAC in the room was simply awful. Had to move rooms the first day. The next room was better but turned into the same issue. Unit freezes up, sounds like a diesel truck in the room, has a mind of its own regarding on/off and temp. Didn't get one decent night sleep. the staff is nice. But will not stay here again until I am assured of new cooling system.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week holiday in Southern California. The hotel is well maintained and the room well appointed. We could not find any information on the hotel anywhere in the room and so had to ask at reception about the gym/pool location and hours. The air conditioning is also very noisy and showing its age, even though the resyt of the room seemed quite up to date.

The free parking is great and plentiful and the location perfectly placed just by the I-405 and an easy drive to the coast. South Pacific Plaza is only a 10 minute easy walk away from the entrance.

Overall pretty good value for maney/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is my second stay at the hotel. I stayed once when it was The Hotel Hanford and now this is the first time since they became the Crowne Plaza. I didn't see any differences since the change in ownership which is awesome! I came here with my boyfriend both times and enjoyed it very much. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating! Grant and Frank specifically provided the best of service. Eddie in room service did a fantastic job and Greg in guest services as well! From beginning to end this place is incredible. I've always had a great room each time with no complaints. I really enjoy this property because it really fits anyones needs. Business travelers, wedding parties, couples, families, they cater to everyone and do it perfectly. I absolutely can't wait to return again hopefully soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here because my daughter was in a tournament nearby. We originally checked in and had a King bed but later that night we unexpectedly we needed to upgrade when a teammate needed to stay with us. The front desk team was very helpful and understanding and was able to accomodate us.

The hotel is location is awesome and easy to find (and next to a McDonalds).

Our rooms were clean and very spacious. Not sure, but it looked as if the rooms and halls all went through a renovation because they were that neat and and looked new.

Another reason I picked this hotel - free parking. Hate paying an extra $16-20 for that (like you would if you go a mile south).

Only bad thing, if there is one, coffee makers were a little tricky and then after I figured it all out and got the coffee going, no cream and sugar :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilizmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing