We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Hanford for 1 night during a weekend celebration for his birthday. The staff was very helpful and Matt gave exceptional customer service. The room was very clean and the bed was delightfully comfortable. If we are ever in this area again we will not hesitate to stay here. Thank you Hotel Hanford.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank God_loves_me75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    180
    71
    18
    20
See reviews for
100
131
44
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Believe it or not they closed the whole front parking lot and had everyone cram into a 2 floor parking structure in back so that at the crack of dawn on a Saturday morning they could have a car show in the front of the hotel..The people who brought their cars were local
guys, they weren't even guests of the hotel..They raced their engines, tooted their horns, played loud music right in front of the hotel rooms...when I complained to the OWNERS of the hotel, they could have cared less. Lost my business, and I hope you make sure they dont have anything like this planned if you plan to stay here...

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerestina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHanfordGM, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Jerestina,

We are so sorry to hear about the trouble with parking. Unfortunately we were hosting an event at the time of your stay, but that should not have interfered with your relaxation or enjoyment. We truly want to apologize for your experience at The Hotel Hanford and thank you for your review. We'd love to remedy this situation immediately. Could you please email us directly at TheHotelHanford@gmail.com? We're looking forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Service: The best! Every hotel staff member we ran into had a smile and truely seemed to enjoy their job.
From the moment we entered the lobby and were greated by the staff unitl we left. We where in town for the OC Fair and Bob Dylan concert. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the concert as well as a phone number to call when we needed a ride back. During breakfast I mentioned to one of the staff we wanted to go to a beach inthe area, he provided us with printed directions to local beaches. Just the little things like this made the stay very nice.

HOTEL OVERALL: Beautiful, comfortable, plenty of space, excellent customer service, top notch drinks (and plenty of them), always someone ready to take our orders, great selecion of great food, first class all the way!

We WILL stay with Excellence again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dknapp743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Clean, nice hotel. Front desk very helpful. Walking distance to mall. Hotel provides free shuttle to John Wayne airport where you can rent cars. WiFi was not great - cut out often. When this was pointed out, front desk suggested that I use WiFi in the lobby! Not the kind of response you would expect from a hotel catering to businesses.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was a last choice (due to other travelers' negative reviews), as all hotels in the area were full. Although the lobby has been updated, and rooms are ok but nothing special, the bathrooms are low-end. In the old, high-rise section (king spa rooms), the "spa" bath is a dark, small space with a plastic shower floor (looks like they took out a bathtub and sealed the floor space).

The overhead rainfall shower head does not work. Others have made the same observation, so it wasn't just my shower. There's a tiny handheld shower head, but the water pressure isn't sufficient to rinse one's hair, and it is positioned so the sharp metal soap dish pushes into your neck if you try to stand under the shower. The flooring is dark brown something (vinyl?). The shampoos are in paper containers (I didn't use them), no shower cap, no cotton balls. Worse-NO makeup mirror, the lighting is horrible, and the wall mirror impossible to use to apply makeup. That's a huge negative. Towels and robe were good quality.

The room, smaller than in the newer "executive" section, was spacious. Bed fairly comfortable, linens good quality. Lighting poor. Couldn't get a lamp to turn on, finally crawled under and saw it was unplugged (was that to discourage use/save energy?). The air/heat unit is an ancient wall mounted fan that is so noisy I did not sleep at all. Every few minutes it loudly click/clacked as it started up, and the motor made a loud noise throughout. On top of that, the building's HVAC plant was outside my windows, so the noise from all that added to the din. I got no sleep.

I was originally assigned the "executive" section, and I asked to be moved because the baths there are tiny, dark, with a bath tub and cheap fabric shower curtain. The rooms are bigger.

The "closets" are small free-standing cupboards. NO ice machines anywhere, although ice buckets were present. The carpeting in the corridors was stained, and the elevators were old, cheap, and scruffy.

Service was very good, although my key card didn't work, so I made trips back/forth. Didn't use the restaurant, but it's dark and not inviting. I wanted the "fresh" juice on the menu to take upstairs, but when the server held up the plastic jug of off-brand juice, I passed. The complimentary coffee in the lobby was very good. I didn't use the pool. The air conditioning seemed to turn on, but the room remained too warm and stuffy.

Wireless internet worked fine. Parking was convenient. Of all the amenities hotels list, my priorities are cleanliness, bed comfort, quality linens, a modern, clean bathroom with good lighting, and quiet so I can actually sleep in the room I'm paying for. This hotel failed on the sleepability, the lighting, the bathroom. If you advertise a rainfall shower, why don't any of them work??

Room Tip: Not sure it's possible, but ask for a room away from the HVAC rooftop plant. You might end up wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1happytraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
748 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have enjoyed staying at the Hotel Hanford two different times in 2011.
Beautifully decorated rooms, quiet, fabulous shower - wonderful restaurant and bar area where you can just go sit and relax and eat appetizers. The customer service is #1 to them. Very nice, warm and welcoming personnel.
We'll stay at the Hotel Hanford anytime we are in that area of Orange County, CA.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I won't reiterate all the many positive things other reviewers have already said - (they are ALL true!). The room decor is unique and beautiful, in a subtle way that you cannot see in the internet photos. I loved the olive green velvet chair, the bed frame which was entirely enveloped in a golden bronze faux leather (i.e. plastic, which I liked because it looked upscale, yet is very cleanable.) The desk chair was super comfy, and there was even a huge ottoman for extra seating should you have an impromptu party. The pool is very large (one can actually do laps!) and they provide tons of chaise lounges, chairs, and four cabanas, all surrounded by palms and grass. Yes, it is too bad the pool is abutting a neighborhood, the closest home hosting a loud kiddie party in their inflatable pool while we were there, but for the price, I cannot complain.

Our lounge experience was not as wonderful - the food and my drink - bourbon Old Fashioned were disappointing...That aside, I don't think you could possibly find a nicer place to stay in OC - definitely not at this price point!

Tip - Seasons 52 is a wonderful restaurant, about 1/2 mile away in the parking lot at South Coast Plaza. Try the crab and shrimp stuffed mushroom appetizer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy_RInnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
839 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing