We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County(Costa Mesa)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

BLVD Hotel(Costa Mesa)
$119
$107
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$183
TributePortfolio
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Costa Mesa Marriott(Costa Mesa)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$156
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$222
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
71
47
23
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
47
23
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree covered parkingbreakfast room isyard housefront desknicely updated hotelmedium sizenewport beacheasy walking distanceunderground garageexercise roomoutdoor pooldecent sizeconvenient locationwould stay here againshower headrooms are cleannice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 147 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I booked this room on business because it was close to John Wayne Airport and not a bad drive to the company I was visiting. The room was great, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly and courteous. However when I checked out I noticed that I was charged $50 a night more for my 2nd, 3rd and 4th night stay over the booking rate I signed for. I stay exclusively at IHG hotels and book for business purpose at company rates and have never had my rate jacked on me before. I'll have some explaining to do to my company about the charges.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Bryan B,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stay in Costa Mesa often for business as it is close to John Wayne Airport (7 minutes). Also close to Newport Beach for nice dinner options in evening.

I've gone back and forth between Holiday Inn Express and Best Western. Best Western has been consistently better, but always like the IHG points. But again this place fell short of Best Western.

The place was clean and updated. House keeping and grounds keeping are impeccable!!

Main reasons for dissatisfaction were 1) the guy working the desk the evening was just not welcoming. Maybe an off night for him (we all have those), but he is my second impression after walking up the building and seeing beautifully maintained grounds/ outside decor!! Just not as good as last time/ not welcoming feeling. 2) all chairs in the room were uncomfortable. The desk chair looked like the $30 desk chair you see at Walmart- cheap, flimsy, not comfy. The main upholstered chair was a 90 degree backed, uncomfortable chair. Maybe great for sitting on in a dining room or in an entry way while you put your shoes on, but nothing you want to sit in to relax and watch TV. 3) was the AC unit kicks out even though the room is still warm. Called the desk and "that guy" at the front desk said its an energy saving thing. I'm all for environmentally friendly, like turn it off when leaving the room for a few hours, I was uncomfortably warm. Also told the guy at the front desk that my window did not open, screen is busted blocking the window from opening at all.

Last time I stayed here it was good, but I had nicer people and more comfy chair.

I'm on the fence about coming back and trying again, or go back to the Best Western again????

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Well located just seconds off the 55 Freeway. Underground car park. Room was clean and functional. Beds fine. Breakfast was basic - I have had much better in similar budget hotels. There is some road noise but it's not too intrusive. Probably just about worth the money we paid - $115 a night for two of us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear BaggyQuin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews