We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice quiet Hotel but bitten on charges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice quiet Hotel but bitten on charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I booked this room on business because it was close to John Wayne Airport and not a bad drive to the company I was visiting. The room was great, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly and courteous. However when I checked out I noticed that I was charged $50 a night more for my 2nd, 3rd and 4th night stay over the booking rate I signed for. I stay exclusively at IHG hotels and book for business purpose at company rates and have never had my rate jacked on me before. I'll have some explaining to do to my company about the charges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Bryan B,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
24
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stay in Costa Mesa often for business as it is close to John Wayne Airport (7 minutes). Also close to Newport Beach for nice dinner options in evening.

I've gone back and forth between Holiday Inn Express and Best Western. Best Western has been consistently better, but always like the IHG points. But again this place fell short of Best Western.

The place was clean and updated. House keeping and grounds keeping are impeccable!!

Main reasons for dissatisfaction were 1) the guy working the desk the evening was just not welcoming. Maybe an off night for him (we all have those), but he is my second impression after walking up the building and seeing beautifully maintained grounds/ outside decor!! Just not as good as last time/ not welcoming feeling. 2) all chairs in the room were uncomfortable. The desk chair looked like the $30 desk chair you see at Walmart- cheap, flimsy, not comfy. The main upholstered chair was a 90 degree backed, uncomfortable chair. Maybe great for sitting on in a dining room or in an entry way while you put your shoes on, but nothing you want to sit in to relax and watch TV. 3) was the AC unit kicks out even though the room is still warm. Called the desk and "that guy" at the front desk said its an energy saving thing. I'm all for environmentally friendly, like turn it off when leaving the room for a few hours, I was uncomfortably warm. Also told the guy at the front desk that my window did not open, screen is busted blocking the window from opening at all.

Last time I stayed here it was good, but I had nicer people and more comfy chair.

I'm on the fence about coming back and trying again, or go back to the Best Western again????

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SenatorMcCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Well located just seconds off the 55 Freeway. Underground car park. Room was clean and functional. Beds fine. Breakfast was basic - I have had much better in similar budget hotels. There is some road noise but it's not too intrusive. Probably just about worth the money we paid - $115 a night for two of us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear BaggyQuin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
2.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
1.2 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Address: 2070 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-2164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa! You are at the heart of everything: beautiful beaches, the ultimate shopping experience, fine dining, entertainment and the arts. Getting here is to be fast and convenient too. We are only 2.5 Miles from the John Wayne International Airport, so you'll spend less time in traffic and more time in doing what you came to Costa Mesa to do. And there is easy access to the 405 and 55 Freeways. Whether you are coming to Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa is your personal retreat. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet access, business center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Have the ultimate shopping experience at the South Coast Plaza, dine at one of the many fine dining restaurants, feel the excitement with the weekend events at the OC Fair and Event Center or enjoy an evening at the Orange County Performing Arts Center. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Costa Mesa a success. We're the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Holiday Inn Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing