We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The rooms are very comfy but - I'm not happy at this hotel. Service is negligible. They claim to have a restaurant and there is one - but not open. Instead, it is hit or miss service in the bar. Previously undisclosed $21 per night parking charge....as if anyone walks in OC. It would be more honest to include parking in the room charge so that you could make an informed choice. Although they claim to have free wi-fi, you can't have it unless you are an Honors Rewards member. You can't even get to the Honor's rewards site to sign up unless you are already a rewards member. Finally, even though I let the desk know I was unhappy on my prior stay with service/internet, I was given a "wonderful" room next to the elevator with a view of the filthy skylights. Way to turn around customer dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Karen C:

I am very sorry your experience here at the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to exceed the guest's expectations, not fall short; we are disappointed we failed.

The hotel does offer a great restaurant, the Bristol Palms with an extensive breakfast buffet and diverse menu, as well as many lunch offerings. During dinner hours, we extend our guests a popular menu in the adjacent lounge, because of numerous requests to do so. It is has been a strong success, but obviously you would have preferred the restaurant setting and we apologize. We also offer 24 hour room service as well as the Starbucks in our lobby.

In terms of parking, like most hotels in major populated areas, we charge a fee for parking but I assure you it is below many of our competitors.

Once again, I apologize for your less than perfect experience here at the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa, but sincerely hope you will give us another try. We have many new changes coming this year and look forward to presenting them to our future guests.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had such a great experience with Betty as our server. She was attentive to our needs. We visit this Hilton twice a year and we are always greeted with a smile from Betty. The rooms were clean and the beds are very very comfortable. We plan on continuing our stay at this Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a view. Due to the proximity to the airport, very few rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Michele W.:

On behalf of the staff of our Palms Bistro restaurant and the entire hotel, thank you for kind comments. It is our pleasure to continue to be your first choice in Costa Mesa. Our convenience to a diversity of entertainment and business venues that are offered in the area including the airport, great shopping, all the major corporate centers of Southern California, as well as some of the prettiest beaches California is known for, are just a few of the reasons guests choose the Hilton Orange County-Costa Mesa as their preferred hotel.

We look forward to your return very soon and thank you once again!

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Best Bathroom Award would be well deserved, and room was very clean and well-maintained. Upper-level cleaning in the lobby will hopefully be addressed in the very near future, as will some maintenance issues (painting) in the decorative areas of the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Traveler34104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Traveler34104:
Thank you for your helpful critique and comments. On behalf of the staff, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa. We have been making numerous improvements to the overall hotel and some of your comments about specific areas are being upgraded, improved right now! Please come back and enjoy for your next trip to Orange County.

Once again, it was our pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

As expected with a hilton... clean rooms and nice ambience. Hotel also had a nice bar and restaurant but we opted for nearby restaurant. Parking was expensive of course.

We went with another couple and had adjoining rooms which was nice as well.

There are two hiltons 5 miles apart so be careful to get the right one...they're both about the same though...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Brandon E:

Thank you for your great comments, on behalf of the staff, we're very appreciative. We continue to work hard to exceed our guests expectations and are continuing to make significant upgrades in all areas. As you enjoyed, our central location to so much offered in Southern California is a great asset, from the business centers of Orange County, to the best shopping in a five radius, convenience to the airport without being at the airport, and the beautiful beaches of Newport.

Once again, it was our pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Across the freeway from South Coast Plaza, had medium expectations for this hotel but was very pleasantly surprised. Plenty of parking, lobby very enjoyable and comfortable, and the rooms were very nicely appointed. I stopped short of a 5 all around as there was occasional airplane noise but that stops at 11:00 so I was more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for kind remarks about the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. I will pass on your comments to our staff who continues to strive for excellence in each area. We look forward to your quick return and once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa!

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is everything you expect from a Hilton. A great location (at least for me), very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The room was modern and up to date. Valet parking was extremely efficient and friendly offering a better route to John Wayne Airport than I was using.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear RichardK:

It was our pleasure hosting your recent stay in Southern California. Thank you for your comments and for noting our staff's commitment to providing the highest level of guest service. As you mentioned, the Hilton Costa Mesa Orange County offers a terrific location, with close proximity to so much the area offers-shopping, business centers throughout Costa Mesa, Irvine, Santa Ana, and Newport as well as convenience to John Wayne Airport while not being at the airport.

Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Costa Mesa Orange County.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've stayed at a number of hotels in the Costa Mesa/Newport Beach area over the years, but this is where I'll stay from now on. Recently spent one night here and everything was perfect. The staff is friendly and professional and the recently renovated 7th floor room was beautiful. Most surprisingly, the food (dinner and breakfast) was excellent -- far exceeded our expectations, as often times hotel food is mediocre or worse. This hotel is ideally located for shopping, access to Orange County offices and John Wayne airport. Thank you to all of the hotel staff for such an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room, upper floor, not near elevator and that's exactly what I got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RightOnTheCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear RightOnThe Corner:

As a seasoned traveler, your comments are especially appreciated. On behalf of the staff, thank you for noticing how hard we're working to provide not only well appointed accommodations with upscale amenities, but service that exceeds our guests' expectation. The Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County is conveniently located near Orange County/John Wayne Airport, but not at the airport. We're walking distance of several entertainment venues, the wonderful shopping choices at South Coast Plaza, and within minutes of the major business centers in Costa Mesa, Irvine, and Santa Ana and down the street from some of the best beaches in Southern California.

Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County. We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,

Rob Gauthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Address: 3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $136 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa Hotel is located in the heart of the OC within walking distance to internationally acclaimed South Coast Plaza Shopping Center near beaches, arts, and other popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Hilton
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing