We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Room, but Construction Noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Room, but Construction Noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here Friday night in room 562. The room was nice, view was good, everything was clean, and I was enjoying my stay....until the slight noise started early morning (it wasn't distinct, but in my sleep I could hear that it sounded like construction, but maybe was other guests being loud). THEN 9am came and they were literally pounding right above my bed. It was SO loud. I could understand if work needed to be done, but they should really be checking to make sure that none of their hotel guests would be effected. If I wanted to wake up early, I could've just stayed home. This was supposed to be a nice relaxing morning for my birthday, and instead I was woken up and couldn't go back to sleep. Self parking was an additional $21, and although it is a good location near a variety of restaurants and the mall, my first impression wasn't my lasting impression. We should've had a better experience at a hotel such as this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarsht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCostaMesa, Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sugarsht,

Thank you very much for your review of your past stay at Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. While I'm glad to hear that like the room, location and the cleanliness, we are very sorry that noise was an issue during your stay. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. If you travel again to Costa Mesa, we hope we have the opportunity to show you our improvements.

Warm Regards,

Doris Leung
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    313
    165
    62
    44
See reviews for
160
104
55
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Needed a reasonably priced hotel for the night as we were going to the beach the next day. AAA rate $107. Staff very nice and professional. Clean and comfortable. Very reasonable. Just a hop on the freeway and we were at the beach in 15 minutes. I feel we got a really good rate as the hotel seemed crowded with a convention. There is a little snack bar in lobby with Starbucks and fresh pasties and fruit. We got something to go in the morning. Faster than sitting in a restaurant. I would definitely stay again since beach so expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCostaMesa, Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Debunnie,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. We're happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with all of us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Doris Leung
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed just one night at this beautiful Hilton and would definitely go back. The beds were sooo amazingly comfy. The room was spacious and clean. My only complaint is as a Hilton chain I expected the complimentary breakfast that they are so famous for. I believe it was only available for "executive" levels and higher room rates. Good location, close to freeways and Santa Ana Observatory which is a great little venue for concerts. Friendly staff, valet for $28 or self park @ an additional cost of $21. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOCALGIRL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCostaMesa, Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Socalgirl41,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We're glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay and found our famous Hilton Bed comfortable. Yes, there is a charge for breakfast, but this is no ordinary continental breakfast you'll find at other hotels. It is a full hot breakfast buffet with items made with the finest ingredients. If you are not a member already, we strongly urge you to sign up for our HHonors loyalty program. It's free to join and you can earn points towards complimentary room nights and member-exclusive privileges at all of the Hilton Family properties.

At Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa, we definitely have plenty to offer and we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Doris Leung
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Level Contributor
486 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are picking this for airport convenience then I would suggest not. The shuttle is a passenger mini van that holds 7 people. That's a big problem if you are on an early flight as it only starts running at 5:30, runs every 30 mins and you might find there is not enough space for you to fit.
It's a typical Hilton otherwise. They are doing renovations so should be upgraded soon
Gym is adequate with 6 treadmills (1 was out of order) and has a nice view overlooking the pool
Morning papers limited to USA Today. If you want the WSJ they are looking to charge you.... This was a first for me

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCostaMesa, Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear DrNic1,

Thank you for your insight on your recent experience at Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. We're sorry that our airport shuttle service didn't meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our Transportation team so that they can review the shuttle schedules for our guests, especially in the morning time when many of our guests depart early.

We appreciate your feedback and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will stay with us soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.


Warm Regards,

Doris Leung
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

In my recent stay to this hotel, I was expecting warm weather in southern california, but it was very cold, around 40F at night. Many rooms had problems with heating, and the dining room was very cold.
This hotel is very clean and well maintained. Staff is nice and helpfull, but it was hard to get the heat going.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCostaMesa, Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. While we're happy to hear that you found our staffs very helpful and accommodating, we apologize for the malfunctioning heating system in your guest room and the main dining room. We'll be sure to address the issues with our maintenance team and hope you'll consider giving us a second change if you return to the area.

Best Regards,

Doris Leung
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with pleasant staff who let us check in early. That was a big plus. There's a nice large swimming pool and two spas as well as a small but sufficient gym. Just be aware that they tack on $5 for room service food. This was a shock to me. A bowl of oatmeal ended up costing me $12!

Room Tip: I called ahead twice and requested a quiet room and early check in. It seemed to help because I rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Jennifer W.

Executive level for our Executive Travelers with views of the city and the planes taking off or landing at John Wayne Airport. Definitely a great location with South Coast Plaza just walking distance ,although we offer complimentary shuttle service to and from the South Coast Plaza to make holiday shopping a breeze.

Regards,

Yolanda H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights after Christmas and again in early January. First of all, the hotel is a few blocks away from South Coast Plaza, one of the premiere shopping malls in the U.S. The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the mall throughout the day. There are many, many restaurants nearby, including Morton's, Capital Grill and Season's. The hotel itself is lovely, rooms are comfortable and well furnished. There is a bar/restaurant in the lobby as well as a coffee bar.The hotel's location is great -- close to the 405 and 55. It's a quick drive to Irvine. (I recommend Houston's restaurant there). John Wayne Airport is also near. This worked out well for us as my husband was close to his business location, and I was near shopping, etc.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room on the 3rd floor and were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylgary_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
Dear JamesBondLosAngeles,

So happy hear you had a great stay and were able to enjoy not only the restaurant inside the hotel but the restaurants close to the hotel. So many choices for all your tastes and enjoyment. Capital Grill, Charlie Palmer, Season 52, are some of the delicious and awesome restaurant choices at the South Coast Plaza. Then close to the plaza and Segerstrom Center of the Art is Scott's Seafood, Morton's for a memorable dining experience each and every night.

Best regards,

Yolanda H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.5 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Property: Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Address: 3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa Hotel is located in the heart of the OC within walking distance to internationally acclaimed South Coast Plaza Shopping Center near beaches, arts, and other popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Hilton
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing