We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Hilton”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nothing special. Not too old, fairly clean. Good Wi-Fi.

Two words of caution: 1) the hotel shuttle at SNA is hard to spot. It picks up across the street and down to the left after you exit from baggage claim. It's a small van that's difficult to spot. 2) the breakfast buffet is outrageously expensive, so watch out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    345
    175
    73
    59
See reviews for
196
125
60
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hilton before, and have liked it but this stay will be my last. First off, the housekeeper does not replace cups, shampoo, conditioner and soap, so we had to call everyday to get it. Second, one night at 5 am, we heard water from the bathroom (which woke us) we go on to see water coming up from the sink overflowing to the floor, and damaging my makeup which was on the counter.

The cleanup man was friendl and told us everything would be taken care of and to move to another room in the morning after we wake up. So we call the front desk in the morning and ask for a. We room, the lady asks if we must switch rooms. Why would we want to stay in a room with wet carpet from the sink overflow?!

After finally getting a new room, we headed to the front desk to ask about the damage done to my cosmetics, the first lady a short haired blond asks "what do you want me to do about it" no apology for what we had gone thru. We then asked for the manager and she wouldn't comp any of our stay (we stayed 8 nights) saying we had prepaid. The only thing we got was 3 days parking free.

The housekeeper and the blond at the front desk were unacceptable. Does Hilton not teach customer service skills? Showing sypmathy and basic human skills are missing. We will stay at the Fairmont from now on.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmtaroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian-Keys, Front Office Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,



I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had in your recent stay with us. We strive to provide the best available service to our guests, and are terribly sorry that we failed to do so in your case.

Let me assure you that what happened in your case is not of the level of customer service we pride ourselves in providing.

Your feedback is very important to us. We greatly appreciate you having brought this to our attention as it serves to assist the areas to better improve our services.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Please contact me directly at Doris.Leung@hilton.com should you need assistance, or have questions or concerns.



Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently stayed at this property while traveling for business. The property is typical of most branded hotels. Nice lobby; Clean, well appointed rooms. The thing that bugged me the most was that you had to pay for parking, and for internet service. This was the second leg of my trip, the first being for pleasure, where I booked a suite that included breakfast in their restaurant, free internet service and a view of the Columbia River for $159.00/night. The rate at this hotel was $179.00/night for a room. No added benefits. Service in the bar was adequate. Cleanliness of the rooms appeared to be good. Overall, it was just an average stay, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Let me begin with the positives:

Good location, well maintained, attractive property.

Now the negatives:

My room was on the executive level - so i assume it would be one of the better rooms. It had no safe, no refrigerator, no grab bar in the shower, no anti-slip coating or mat in the tub. The executive lounge in open for a continental breakfast daily at 6am - but it really was not stocked with food until 6:20 am. The lounge is not open for cocktails or snacks in the afternoon. On Saturday and Sunday it is not open at all after breakfast.

Self parking is $21 per day. The hotel's restaurant food is mediocre at best and very expensive.

I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedona-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am a loyal Fairmont Newport Beach guest. It is a beautiful place and the staff is professional. I decided to try out the Hilton one night. The bar/lounge staff was incredibly rude and disrespectful (particularly a new server "Jennifer" ) Very unprofessional. It was so bad that I spoke to upper hotel management and filed a complaint with Hilton Honors. What a shame that Hilton Costa Mesa has carelessly hired bar/lounge staff that have a maverick attitude. Completely irresponsible. If you want to be treated as a Hilton Honors Gold Member or any business traveler in general, please avoid this hotel based on the circus that is the front bar/lounge staff. Goodbye Hilton Costa Mesa! Thank Heavens for Fairmont Newport Beach!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian-Keys, Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Michael K,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. We are very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We've addressed the problems you mentioned with our Food and Beverage Department. Thank you for alerting us to this issue, and we hope you'll give us another chance if you return to our area.

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here last week for a conference. When I walked in I was very pleased to find how beautiful this hotel is! The staff was very accommodating to our needs at check in. Their Bristol Palms restaurant was tasty and decently priced. We needed to make sure our hotel was also pet friendly and they in fact are! The rooms are spacious. Beautifully done! Great proximity to the South Coast Plaza. My only small complaint is that because it is so close to the freeway, you can hear the traffic. But! It wouldn't have been bad enough to change my decision to stay here again. Right next to John Wayne airport! Their meeting rooms are gorgeous! I was very pleased with my stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preciousgemcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very disappointing. If you must stay there, be sure to get a room on the 7th floor!. Lower floors have a view of the roof. Even conference goers can't access the club room without extra fees. Bathrooms are downright dangerous with no bathmats or grab bars. A small refrigerator also cost extra. Hotel is only adequate. And the desk manager is less than accommodating.

Room Tip: Seventh floor only!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
845 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Property: Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Address: 3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa Hotel is located in the heart of the OC within walking distance to internationally acclaimed South Coast Plaza Shopping Center near beaches, arts, and other popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Hilton
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing