We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok - enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    67
    44
    51
See reviews for
78
60
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

first booked here so my wife and i could visit in laws who live very close and we could still have a place to stay, turns out to be 'great place', now my wife and i use it as a great little get away...it's close to everything yet quite, neat, the staff is great..housekeeping always helpful...if you want a clean..neat..place to stay, with really
nice staff....this is the place. if you want a nice little clean little palce that will treat you right. come here to stay

Room Tip: back corner rooms offer a little more quite, but here again, really nice quite little place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umikeysgtsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Staff is very friendly, prices are the best for the area, and very conveniently located. Although it looks and smells like a motel, which is not very cool. Bathroom had old cabinetry and shower/tub. Sheets/comforter/towel were clean and AC was great in the room. Sketchy characters in the area...

Room Tip: if you are a picky traveller, please bring your own towels and wear sandals in the room, otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcuf33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candolim, India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On the highway, Its a motel with the most basic facilities. My Ac conked off twice and then had to change the room. The location is good if your work is not in the city and its a quick come and go kind of trip for longer than 1 night on a holiday I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prannay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

On the plus side- the staff was very kind and friendly and worked hard to keep the room clean. Also, the location had easy access to the fairgrounds, movies, restaurants, and the beach was a quick drive. However, there are negatives: the bedding in the room is old and the bedspread needs to be thrown out. The pillows were the worst I have ever experienced because of the lumps and the mattress needs to be replaced. The "deluxe" continental breakfast consisted of cereal and prepackaged sweet rolls. I would advise looking elsewhere; I know that I will.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Older motel in a great location. I believe the room (208) was a corner room and the decor and bathroom were old and kind of decrepit. Think bordello red and old TV's.

It is OK for a "budget hotel", whatever that means nowadays. Staff very nice, but kept parking their van in the handicapped spaces. I guess when you own the place, you can get away with that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstontosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having had the choice between here and Ramada, I wish we went Ramada. Apon arrival we were told the only room left was the smoking room. We booked 4 months in advance, we should of had non-smoking reserved. My fiance suffers from asthma and struggled the whole 2 days. We've stayed in other smoking rooms before fine. But this one you cannot breath in and all our belongings smell of smoke. So I guess they don't care about requests. Why in 2012 do we still even have smoking rooms? I saw about 6 ppl outside smoking at one point... yet they are all in non-smoking rooms???? Yet us the healthy gym goers who book in advance are given the dodgy smelly smoke room.

We had been road tripping across USA for 2 months and never stayed in a hotel with such bad creeks. One night we could hear a couple above us having sex. We can hear every foot step they take and most conversations. Any time they goto the toilet in the night.. we are woken up.

The whole gym thing is a bit iffy. We wanted to go but they had run out of passes so we had to sign up on a 3 day trial..

Lastly there was annoying kid waking us up in the morning. Not the motels fault.. but if your staying at these places please show some courtesy between 10pm - 10am.

Front desk staff were nice, decent location, good internet, tv channels worked (remote broken), toilet was filthy.

Room Tip: Whats the point in writing here, they wont acknowledge your requests anyway and dump you in the wors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMAC2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.2 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Property: Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Address: 2100 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Days Inn
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing