We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great stay no faults except breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
NORTHRIDGE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great stay no faults except breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

very clean, plenty of toiletries, spacious room, tv has free hbo, theres free wifi.
rooms are extremely comfy, we had a walk in closet with safe, micro fridge, etc.
paid 360 for 3 nights just rebooked next stay for 305 (shop around)
Ideally located? Not really anything around except fairgrounds, but everything is within a 15-20 minute car ride, such as irvine district, spectrum, even laguna.
welcome basket had cheetos, choc chip granola bar, 2 waters, and couple fruit.
Was very clean not one hair strand anywhere. Even a toilet sanitized seal upon arrival LOL.
Only negative was breakfast; could not be worse (cold, soggy, runny, just disgusting)
Stopped after first day.
I would give 5 stars except breakfast was so bad. Well dont expect much when included but this was terrrible. Also the server was rude and impersonable didnt like him one bit.
Just went to starbucks to get food in the mornings (also a jack in the box, and "k" store, subway) all in a corner literally takes 3 minutes to walk there.
Each floor even has a walk out patio for smokes if you do.
Parking crampy but plenty

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGZOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    138
    42
    22
    13
See reviews for
144
93
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hated my stay at this hotel, won't be coming back again! First bad sign, was our check -in...should have left then....they lied about accommodating all our rooms on the first floor, our rate was incorrect! "We will have it fixed when you check out" That didn't happen!!!!! The pool was disgustingly dirty when we came back at 5, all cloudy! Jacuzzi was even worse, like if someone shoveled a pile of dirt at the bottom..it was disgusting!! Internet was out and the rooms smelled of smoke!! So looks like we won't be staying there again! Just cancelled reservation for next month we all had already made prior to this trip! When I complained the gentleman said, "no one else complained!" Wow!!! Great customer service!! Unbelievable! BEWARE people!!! Food was ok! Pretty grouchy server, was very rude and told me to turn off my music! Not lower it or do You mind turning off the music!!! Just TURN IT OFF!!! Plus, ice machines didn't work....

Room Tip: Don't stay there!!! Beware!!! Sucks for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kani2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hote several times this past year and everything has always been first class rate. I always stay on the 3rd floor, the rooms are clean, great amenities, friendly staff, great service, comfy beds with lots of extra pillows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very short distance to some of the best beaches and Balboa Island. The room was inside. The room had a recliner and we were welcomed with a fruit basket and bottled water. We were unable to take advantage of the breakfast, but a hot breakfast was offered free at their onsite restaurant. The price was extremely reasonable. Staff very friendly. Wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was so please with this hotel. The hotel was beautiful inside and out. The employees were so helpful and kind to me. My room was a mazing spacious and clean. The breakfast was amazing and nutritious. I couldn't be happier with my stay. I would stay here again! Thank you Best western

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have one well behaved indoor only, adult, cat. Since the property does not allow pets anymore (long time ago, they did) I cannot give them my business. Would love to return here at least 3 times a year for extended stays............but cannot, no pets allowed. They need to reconsider this, and at least allow one cat.........would be willing to pay pet deposit, though there would never be any damages done by my one gentle cat. Really miss staying here.........lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank josie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were in Costa Mesa to see a concert & selected this Best Western for their reputation & close proximity to the venue. It was an average hotel, clean & comfortable. Parking is hard if you have an oversized vehicle, mine did not fit in the parking structure. Breakfast was ok, eggs & bacon were cold, but it was ok, the restaurant was crowded & small. I didn't experience any problems & like I said, it was comfortable & clean, so if you aren't looking for a lot of "extras" it is fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#11 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Address: 2642 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-4626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#7 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn offers you a world of comfort in our stylish, meticulously maintained rooms. Our spacious rooms come with Deluxe King-sized Bed, Office desk and Reclining Chair. Two queen-size beds or with private Jacuzzi are also available. All rooms have HD TV with complimentary movie channels, Coffeemakers, ironing boards, hair dryers. Start the day with Complimentary Full-hot Breakfast. Stay connected with Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet Access throughout the hotel. Located between Irvine, Costa Mesa, Newport Beach. Across from Orange County Fairgrounds. Close to Irvine Business Centers, John Wayne Airport, South Coast Plaza Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Best Western Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing