We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cozy Inn
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past years but have found this place to be going downhill lately. My last stay, 2/04/2012 was so disappointing that I will not stay there again. The bathroom had small towels, no soap, shampoo, etc., nice bathtub but no plug to take a bath. Water had to run a long time to get hot and only one kleenex left in the box. Panic set in when I found the blowdryer to be broken! Wanted to leave a note but had nothing to write with. As a business traveler, I will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paticaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
30
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and brother in law were booked to stay here during the Orange County fair as they were working the during the whole month of the OC fair 2011. The company they were working for booked the room, so it was not their choice to stay here in the first place.

To start, the owner, I believe, her name is Nida and a man whom I believe was her husband were very rude. When asked any questions regarding their stay, she was very short with them and non customer service oriented. I actually stayed a few nights there as well as I was working the fair also. The beds were very hard and the the carpet was filthy. It is definitely a one star hotel. The pool is small and very uninviting.

If you go against my advice and decide to stay here, please make sure to bring your own towels. They provide very small, and very abrasive cheap, cheap towels for you to use. They also have a strange odor. Seeing as though they were there for the month, they brought a George Foreman grill in order to make dinner in the evenings. My husband used one of their cheap crappy washcloths to put underneath the grill. Apparently grease from the chicken got onto the washcloth, which could not have cost more than 25 cents. He threw the towels down underneath the sink with the other used towels and the maid apparently decided to make the greasy washcloth into a big deal. Nida, the owner, came and rudely told my husband that he better not ruin anymore of her (crappy) towels. If anything, she could have requested that the washcloth, which already needed to replaced anyways, be paid for. However, instead, knowing that everyone from the company was working the fair all day, she or someone she sent, went into my husbands room and removed the showerhead from the shower. Ridiculous!!! She then proceeded to blame them for the removal of the showerhead and charged them for a new one!!!! I still cannot believe that she did that! Not only was the showerhead a old crappy showerhead that no one would want, but they did not have the tools nor the time or reason to remove the showerhead. Of course there was absolutely no way to prove that they did not take the showerhead, so they were ultimately responsible for the cost. My husband confronted her about the incident and she rudely continued to accuse him of taking the showerhead. This was the most unprofessional way to deal with her damaged washcloth. This incident happened the very day after she confronted my husband about the washcloth. He would have gladly paid for the cheap washcloth, but a showerhead that he did not take or damage? I strongly recommend staying away from this place, not only due to their rudeness and unprofessionalism, but also because the place is dirty, has horrible towels, and the bed is very difficult to sleep on. The only good thing I can say about the place is that it is cheap and close to the fair.

Room Tip: Go stay on the otherside of the 57 at the Holiday Inn Express, we stayed there last year and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
111 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A very good motel located nearby Los Angeles. Given the price (< $70), the rooms are unexpectedly large and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The room is fitted with a desk & chairs, large TV (at least 40"), fridge, microwave, ironing board... Large bathroom.
Absolutely no noise, despite the Interstate being not so far (but a level below the street).
There is a free wifi hotspot in the motel, and a (small) pool (located in the middle of the - private - parking lot!). Front desk staff was friendly.
The motel is a few minutes from the ocean, and 30 to 40 minutes from downtown LA. Definitively a good location for a night or two.
Note: there is no breakfast or amenities of such sort, but restaurants are available all around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A good report to this quiet motel in Costa Mesa. Pleasant, responsive staff. The room and bath were modern and exceptionally clean. Great Wi-Fi.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RaintoMArs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

The title says it all. 42" tv, hot shower, clean room, friendly and flexible staff, all for a really low price. And only a stone's throw from the beach (albeit a crappy one) and Norm's Restaurant, an adorable diner! It beats the local alternatives in value, and again, the staff was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaunanicoleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Was 'passing through' Costa Mesa area and wanted to see a few different groups of friends and also be near Orange County Airport to pick up other friends arriving there. Cozy Inn was conveniently located near everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and included microwave and fridge. Great value for the price and everything was clean and orderly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojotrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Good sized motel room. We had 1 double room which was a huge room. Room included fridge and microwave.

We booked through Expedia and when we were in Los angeles staying elsewhere we wanted to cancel a couple of nights ( we had not paid any money at this point they only had our credit card details in case we did not show) at Cozy inn so we could travel to Las vegas first. We phoned Cozy inn to see if we could do this. Spoke to a young guy who was not very helpful and he told us we had to get in contact with Expedia direct. Which we tried but had internet problems at our hotel. A couple of stressful phone calls later to Cozy inn we spoke to a lady who was very friendly and helpful and sorted it all out for us.

When we arrived we greeted by a lady who again was very helpful ( Nita) and nothing was a problem. Nita restored our faith in motel.

There is a pool which is in the middle of the car park and very small. But the beach is 10 mins by car. If your going to Newport beach take lots of quarters for the ticket machine.

This is a motel and is at the standard of a motel.

  • Liked — Room size, huge fridge and microwave
  • Disliked — Pool and the unhelpful reception man
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losangeles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.1 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.0 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Inn

Property: Cozy Inn
Address: 325 W Bay St, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-2019
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozy Hotel Costa Mesa
Cozy Inn Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing