We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Ranked #19 of 511 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Blackpool, england
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Came across this place by accident and what a great find, we were driving round at 21:30 on a Saturday night and spotted Karl Strauss. The food we had was superb as were the drinks and service, there are lots of ales to choose from and they will give you samples if your not sure which one you fancy. A great place to eat and relax

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony_nufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Microbrewery with very good food and nice ambience at South Coast Plaza.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Karl Strauss is a nice place for a relaxed lunch, indoors or on the patio. Squid Pro quo was fantastic, fish tacos were excellent, and turkey burger juicy & tasty. Great beer selections. Unobtrusive background music and TVs. Excellent service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun Place With Terrific Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After doing some shopping at South Coast Plaza, we stopped into this restaurant that we had driven past many times. We were very happy with our choice. Our young son had the nacho starter (beans, cheese, guacamole, chipotle sour cream-he added chicken) as his main meal. He was glad. We tasted a couple of the brews to make our choice and both decided on the brewer's choice that night. We split a organic greens salad which had a great light dressing and plenty of texture and flavor. We checked with our server for her recommendations and decided upon her choices. Great tips. My husband had the pork chops which were big and tasty with mashed potatoes and vegetables, while I had the turkey burger which was a far cry from ordinary fare. Yummy. We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed the warm evening. Inside it is a bit like a sports bar. We shall be returning-hopefully soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCKTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a game”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot eat the fried/greasy/fatty food that is typical fare for sports bars, but I love to watch a game in a place with good food and service. We called over beforehand and asked if we could change one of their TVs to the NHL playoffs. They've also got strong wifi that is free.
The waitstaff was excellent. We were there for about two and a half hours and our water/coffee/soda was always being refilled. They told us about the happy hour specials as well as what was good on tap. We had two appetizers (hummus and pita, crab cakes) a big spinach salad and the chocolate brownie dessert.

We caught the NHL playoffs

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thelaurentide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best chicken fjngers in town!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

All the food is good. Best time to go is 3 to 6 pm. Happy hour prices on wings salads etc...you get dinner portions at happy hour prices! Can't beat that. Great service, you can watch sports on big screen tv's or sit outside and watch. Underground Parking lot across street for free, They charge for valet at dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed

 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing