We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Native Foods but this location disappoints.”
Review of Native Foods

Native Foods
Ranked #24 of 510 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We love Native Foods but this location disappoints.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been eating at Native Foods since the mid-nineties. It remains the best vegetarian chain in the US. We have tried almost every location (Boulder, not yet!) but so far the Costa Mesa location is the one that disappoints.

The location lacks parking and, what little parking exists, is dominated by valets. Once inside, the music is too loud. The Mongolian urt architecture is cute but not very practical, as the tables are really tight to the benches. It also heightens ambient noise by echoing voices. Outdoor seating is much more pleasant, though the loud music is inescapable. We were there recently on a day when the staff forgot to turn the music on and it was so much better.

We still frequent a Native Foods location at least once per week but avoid this location unless we want to pair it with a visit to South Coast Plaza or John Wayne Airport. Try the location in Fashion Island just 15 minutes away, if you can.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Vegan's Dream”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are plenty of food choices (ie: wrap, pizza, salad, rice bowls, desserts, etc) and all of the items on the menu are vegan! Food can be quickly served to the table and there's outside seating. I enjoy the outdoor community table area where there's a small firepit on the table. There are outdoor heaters if necessary. Right in The Camp where there are eco-consciousness in the stores. When parking at the camp, there's a surprise statement made at each parking slot...you will see for yourself! The architecture of the restaurant is amazing...see how all are enthralled by a shared fan within their seats!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluefire8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing vegan food!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Such good food! Love the tacos!
Only suggestion... More gluten free options would be nice to see. Most of their protein options (burgers etc) have gluten in them. Otherwise love this place and go their often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshBrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Vegan without sacrificing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We gave Native Cafe a try after reading the great reviews. We were not disappointed.

Food was fresh, innovative and very tasty. We had mushroom burger and "meat"ball sandwich. Excellent and you never felt you were settling to be healthy.

Staff was friendly and service was quick. The should be setting a trend here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spi-kids_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super hip vegan food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Native Foods is located in The Camp, which is a cool place to visit on its own - shopping, dining, great atmosphere. And the food at Native Foods is great! We ate there twice while staying in Costa Mesa. Everything on the menu is vegan, and it's fun and yummy! My favorite was the nachos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Foods also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Native Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing