We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegan without sacrificing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Native Foods

Native Foods
Ranked #26 of 510 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Vegan without sacrificing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We gave Native Cafe a try after reading the great reviews. We were not disappointed.

Food was fresh, innovative and very tasty. We had mushroom burger and "meat"ball sandwich. Excellent and you never felt you were settling to be healthy.

Staff was friendly and service was quick. The should be setting a trend here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spi-kids_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super hip vegan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Native Foods is located in The Camp, which is a cool place to visit on its own - shopping, dining, great atmosphere. And the food at Native Foods is great! We ate there twice while staying in Costa Mesa. Everything on the menu is vegan, and it's fun and yummy! My favorite was the nachos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast, fabulous, and vegan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I got two meals to go, but next time hope to visit a little longer. We enjoyed the Soul Bowl and Bangkok Curry. Both were excellent, filled with fresh veggies and delightful sauces. The drinks were tasty too -- iced chai tea and watermelon fresca. Please open a location near San Luis Obispo? Or I guess we have to drive to L.A. and the O.C. again soon...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You'd never know...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

...that this was vegan. Chef Tanya is a wonder at creating amazing dishes. Her non-chicken chicken is amazing, her sauces are incredible, and her commitment to earth-friendly cuisine is what keeps me coming back. A great place for lunch -- alone or with friends. Try their cupcakes -- they are to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vegan for an carnivore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My 9 year-old's favorite restaurant! The "chicken nuggets" are great. The veggies and salads are really tasty! Best vanilla cupcakes & orange-cream cupcakes in the world! (they're kind of a once a year treat... we're hoping they bring them back to their daily dessert menu! hint hint) Ranch dressing is amazing.
Don't miss their drinks...we are a family of water-drinkers but the lavender-lemonade or the watermelon drink are must-have's when we are at Native Foods!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OCdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Foods also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Native Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing