We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Surprised”
Review of Scott's - CLOSED

Scott's
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anton
Encino
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Surprised”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have eaten here in the past and the food was consistently good. This time we came with a large group of people and must say that something went wrong in the kitchen. The Cioppino was bland and the Hanger Steak was very salty.

The service was not up to par, although our waiter tried to do his best. Just seems he was not supported very well.

Obviously we had to pay 18% onto the bill for the gratuity for our large party, but in all fairness I would not have left them more than 15%.

We will have to give thought as to whether we want to come back in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1momo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    66
    22
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Expensive but amazing”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was suggested by the hotel for great seafood. Not only was the food extremely good, but the service was out of this world. It was expensive, but was a real culinary experience. The waiter was very helpful in helping me pick the food, what a great experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too much water!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We go to Scott's fairly often to entertain clients before going to shows at the Segerstrom Performing Arts Center. It is in a great location to leave your car there (valet only) and then walk over to the show. The food and service are usually pretty good and the dining room is bright and lively. They are also really good about getting you out on time when you tell them that you are going to a show. This evening we went we were kind of disturbed by the service. Our clients had arrived before us and ordered bottled water. That was fine, but the waiters had already poured water for us as well - not giving us the opportunity to choose ice water or nothing. Just before dessert was served the waiter (not the one who took our order, someone else - maybe a bus boy) filled our glasses then took the not yet empty bottle of water away. It still had at least 2 inches of water in it. He quickly came back with another bottle and opened it and poured it without asking if we wanted it. Only one person did not have a completely full glass and it was only down a small amount. It really felt like they were just trying to sell an extra bottle. We didn't say anything at the time - it was awkward because we were treating clients, but that was pretty cheesy. We had all had drinks, entrees and shared desserts - they should not have felt like they needed to maximize the profit at our table. It was very disappointing. It my fault for not saying anything, but it really shouldn't have been handled that way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This restaurant apparently doesn't have to impress to maintain a clientele due to it's proximity to the theatres. We had a decent dinner but most dishes were bland and uninspiring. Steaks with chimichurri sauce were "marinated" in it and dry, scallops, while tasty themselves, came with only 3 of them and barely a hint of bleu cheese in a rather runny pool of polenta. The oysters rockfeller were very disappointing.
The atmosphere is good but the server seemed overwhelmed and bussers were far and few between. When they did show up they cleared the plates before we were finished eating. We had to refill our own wine glasses and utensils/bread plates were not replaced. I guess if you go with the right expectations of being willing to pay a premium for the location/ambience and don't expect a fine dining experience with memorable food and service, it is just okay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sctraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy, Hip Place, Great Seafood, Great Service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We took a family member for a birthday, and had a great experience. At peak time (Friday night, before the show at the nearby Segerstrom Center/OC Performing Arts Center), it's very busy, and the place gets a little loud, but the tables/booths are comfortable. The restaurant is very nicely and contemporarily decorated.

Service was very good. The waiter might have been a touch smothering, but he was nice, and the food came out pretty quickly.

The calamari is amazing. They serve it either fried/crispy or Provencal style with a spicy sauce. I'd definitely recommend the spicy one. It's a buttery, garlicky sauce with a touch of Tabasco flavor with green onions. It's not too spicy but has a nice kick.

I had the scallops, which were like butter. They came with a bleu cheese polenta (just a small smear - I could've eaten a tub of it). Wife had the sole with a caper sauce, which was also excellent. The fresh bread is killer, as was the chocolate soufflé.

It's a touch pricey, but inline for the area and the experience. The bar looked pretty happening when I passed through it.

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonorableTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott's also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing