We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kinda Pricy, Nicely Spicy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memphis Cafe

Memphis Cafe
Ranked #33 of 506 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Randolph
Description: Memphis Café is a Costa Mesa neighborhood mainstay in the heart of the SOBECA district. Soon after opening in 1995, Memphis Café received a 5 star review from LA Times food critic, Irene Virbilla, and has continued to earn critical acclaim and a loyal following ever since. Classically trained Chef and co-founder Diego Velasco has created a distinctive gourmet interpretation of Southern comfort classics with signature dishes such as the Down Home Gumbo, Buttermilk Fried Chicken, Seafood Jambalaya and seasonal specials sourced locally with naturally raised meats, seafood, poultry and produce. The roadhouse style bar at Memphis offers both classic call and crafted cocktails along with carefully curated beer and wine list. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Memphis Café also offers vibrant late night entertainment Friday and Saturday.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kinda Pricy, Nicely Spicy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The food is delish! Generous portions. You do get what you pay for, I would like to have had a smaller portion at a smaller price, it was more than I could finish. That said, I look forward to my next (3rd) visit!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkusSTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great vibe, excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've never ordered anything on the menu that I didn't like, I don't know how much better of a review I can give than that. A modern take on southern cuisine, anything from Mahi tacos to their famous gumbo, delicious! Sit on the back patio and order a specialty cocktail, you won't regret it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Funky Rustic Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A great departure from the typical everyday chain restaurant, Memphis truly has soul. They serve brunch, lunch and dinner and the menu boasts everything from down home gumbo to southern meatloaf and a lot more. This is a small and simple restaurant (with an additional location in Santa Ana) but don't be fooled, they know how to prepare a mean saffron risotto jambalaya. If you're looking for a great taste of the South, Memphis is a safe bet. If you don't want to wait, it's advisable to make a reservation in advance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lysa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I acame her to have a quick lunch. I had a grilled portoabella mushroom sandwich. It was very good. It came with french fries. I have eaten here many times and always like it. The service was good and I like the atmosphere. I have been to this restaurant with so many people and they all liked it. That is something to be said.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful cozy restaurant with AMAZING fried chicken!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my first try of this restaurant and I am DEFINITELY coming back for more!
The atmosphere is "friendly neighborhood" restaurant - inside and outside seating available.
The menu offers many choices and all sounded good to try.
The popcorn shrimp appetizers were excellent, NOT greasy and promptly served to our table "hot". What a treat!!
My "benchmark measuring tool" for this restaurant was the Fried chicken dinner. WOW!! Crispy on the outside - moist and flavorful chicken. Once again . . .no hint of lingering oil when delivered "piping hot" poised on a bed of mashed potatoes, and greens. Gravy was light and very flavorful. The greens were excellent. NOT overcooked - what a treat!!! The brussel sprouts were treated with the same kindness and were EXCELLENT!
The ribeye steak was the other entree ordered for our dinner. It was reported to be excellent. And definitely a hit!!
The food presentation merits mention. Attention was given to garnishes etc. Very nice!!
The staff were friendly, accommodating and seemed genuinely interested in providing us with an excellent and delicious experience.
I'm definitely going back to sample the menu again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Cafe also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Memphis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing