We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bedford, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I made plans to stay here for a family reunion and received many praises for my excellent hotel choice. At a time when most other hotels charged a lot more than usual, I was gladly surprised to still find an option within everybody's budget. The architecture, art work, furniture, and classical music background created a very nice atmosphere. The breakfast had many options and was delicious. The bed was really comfortable. The location was great for the plans we had to explore several beaches. The staff was very helpful.

Thanks for being part of the wonderful memories we made in this trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InNeedOfMoreVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    373
    116
    40
    26
See reviews for
391
244
69
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

overall we enjoyed our stay at the Aryes Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa. It was very central and close to places that we needed to travel while in California. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very friendly.

The only problem we encountered was that our reservation was for 4 people and we had a room with one Queen bed and a pullout queen sofa bed. There was no linen, pillows or blanket for the pull out bed.

Other than that we completely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Edgar N,

We greatly appreciate you choosing us for your stay as well as taking the time to write your review. When sleeping in the room with a queen sofa bed, we agree that the linens should be available promptly and apologize for the inconvenience. We will work to make sure these accommodations are met. We strive to find the best locations possible to provide an enjoyable and easy stay for our wide range of guests. I am glad to hear that we were able to make your travels as easy as possible. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience but am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will have the chance to visit us again very soon.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at this location because it was relatively close to the area I needed to be (Irvine). With that said, I didn't really need a whole lot to make my stay enjoyable, easy check in, and some peace and quiet. The check in was easy except they couldn't give me the room I requested because they were sold out. What's the point of reserving and requesting a room if you can't honor it? Ok, whatever, not the end of the world. The quiet on the other hand is not something I can negotiate on. Especially when I'm paying. I'm not talking about quiet in the bar or near the pool, I just wanted quiet in my room. The guest above me had kids that ran around all night. I'm not saying that kids shouldn't be allowed to run, I personally don't want to hear it. And since they were "sold out" there's nothing that could be done. Epic fail. The furniture is completely outdated and overall needs a remodel. The morning breakfast failed on having many options for anyone that wasn't looking for greasy bacon and eggs at 7am. There was a bowl of cantaloupe and melon but not a banana or apple in sight. Would a piece of whole fruit be too much to ask?? Overall it's not a horrible place to stay. It really depends on what experience you're looking for. I personally will not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing us for your stay. We try to make each guest's visit as accommodating as possible. At times when our hotel is sold out due to multiple events taking place at our location or in the area, or groups staying at our hotel, we are not always able to accommodate every request and we do apologize for the inconvenience. We are working hard with our kitchen team to provide a quality driven breakfast with plenty of variety. I apologize that the breakfast was not satisfactory for you in the morning. Providing a breakfast that starts the day off right for our guests is important. Again, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope you will still consider staying us in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I enjoy the atmosphere here. It has a wonderful welcoming feel and the people are incredible helpful at the front desk. It is a great location. The hotel and rooms are gracious and I will
stay there anytime I am in the area. Feels like home!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at this Ayres Hotel the night before flying out of John Wayne Airport. It also happened to be the night *after* we stayed at the Ayres Hotel in Laguna Woods. I have to report that this location suffered by comparison. The air traffic from the airport is loud. On the Friday night we arrived, the hotel seemed packed--very hard to find a parking space, and loud parties/meetings seemed to be going on in and around the pool courtyard, with the noise sometimes seeping into our room. We found the back door to the hotel propped wide open when we finally found a place to park and brought our luggage in. At about 9 p.m., the guests above us returned to their room and ran around endlessly (kids? drunk adults? who knows?). We finally just put our ear plugs in and went to sleep. While the room and furnishings were nice, you could tell that they had been hard-used (unlike our experience at the Laguna Woods location) and the room layout seemed odd to me (walking right into the bar/sink area).

We left too early to partake of the breakfast, though there were some pastries out at 5 a.m. when we checked out. On the plus side, the hotel is very close to the airport and a pretty good value, I felt. It's also close to several gas stations if you have to refill your rental car. Just don't expect a lot of quiet here--it definitely seems like a busy place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiberryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at Ayres for a 2 day conference hosted by the California Consortium of Education Foundations. I represented the Castillero Middle School Education Foundation as incoming President. I was VERY pleased with hotel experience.The customer service is the best I've experienced to-date and I have some travel experience. Staff are pleasant, responsive, considerate and courteous. Rooms are designed to today's trends, with flat screen tvs, wet bar and fridge; are clean, well furnished, designed for comfort and hallways are well lit and wide. Elevators are quiet and smooth ride. I really like the modern mediterranean 'look', colors and feel of the whole hotel. I like the indoor/outdoor enclosed garden and outdoor courtyard with the well-maintained table top accents (herbs in pots!) I did not have time to use spa so can't evaluate. I wish I brought camera to take photos of the garden and the decor of the foyer etc. Shuttle to and from airport and conference site was very efficient. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms were part of conference group rate, but I think worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: The use of herbs in outdoor garden was nicely done and well maintained. Sorry don't have photos, but wish I took some of the outdoor courtyard flowers, etc. Very 'english garden-like'
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinnia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This Hotel is very nice, clean, and a little different in then your normal hotel. The difference is that the property is beautiful, the courtyards, pools, lounge are all very nice. The staff is over the top, will trained and very professional.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing