We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience at this Ayres location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Central PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience at this Ayres location”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at this Ayres Hotel the night before flying out of John Wayne Airport. It also happened to be the night *after* we stayed at the Ayres Hotel in Laguna Woods. I have to report that this location suffered by comparison. The air traffic from the airport is loud. On the Friday night we arrived, the hotel seemed packed--very hard to find a parking space, and loud parties/meetings seemed to be going on in and around the pool courtyard, with the noise sometimes seeping into our room. We found the back door to the hotel propped wide open when we finally found a place to park and brought our luggage in. At about 9 p.m., the guests above us returned to their room and ran around endlessly (kids? drunk adults? who knows?). We finally just put our ear plugs in and went to sleep. While the room and furnishings were nice, you could tell that they had been hard-used (unlike our experience at the Laguna Woods location) and the room layout seemed odd to me (walking right into the bar/sink area).

We left too early to partake of the breakfast, though there were some pastries out at 5 a.m. when we checked out. On the plus side, the hotel is very close to the airport and a pretty good value, I felt. It's also close to several gas stations if you have to refill your rental car. Just don't expect a lot of quiet here--it definitely seems like a busy place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiberryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    367
    114
    40
    25
See reviews for
380
239
68
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at Ayres for a 2 day conference hosted by the California Consortium of Education Foundations. I represented the Castillero Middle School Education Foundation as incoming President. I was VERY pleased with hotel experience.The customer service is the best I've experienced to-date and I have some travel experience. Staff are pleasant, responsive, considerate and courteous. Rooms are designed to today's trends, with flat screen tvs, wet bar and fridge; are clean, well furnished, designed for comfort and hallways are well lit and wide. Elevators are quiet and smooth ride. I really like the modern mediterranean 'look', colors and feel of the whole hotel. I like the indoor/outdoor enclosed garden and outdoor courtyard with the well-maintained table top accents (herbs in pots!) I did not have time to use spa so can't evaluate. I wish I brought camera to take photos of the garden and the decor of the foyer etc. Shuttle to and from airport and conference site was very efficient. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms were part of conference group rate, but I think worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: The use of herbs in outdoor garden was nicely done and well maintained. Sorry don't have photos, but wish I took some of the outdoor courtyard flowers, etc. Very 'english garden-like'
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinnia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This Hotel is very nice, clean, and a little different in then your normal hotel. The difference is that the property is beautiful, the courtyards, pools, lounge are all very nice. The staff is over the top, will trained and very professional.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Ayres Hotel & Suites. They were very accommodating, helpful and the breakfast was full and delicious. The rooms were comfortable making my stay like a home away from home. The workout facility was good too. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The room with a couch is helpful for business or study work!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel was close by many things-if you have a car. If you don't, the hotel shuttle is helpful, but schedule it in advance!
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We love staying at the Ayres Suites, Costa Mesa. It is close to shopping and everything in Newport Beach and Costa Mesa. It has a great breakfast and good parking. The price is very reasonable and it has a feel of a boutique hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My fabulous experience began before I even arrived, and my visit was on a whim. I made my reservation Wed. night for a Fri. arrival, then invited my sister to join Thurs. morning. She said yes, so I called the hotel to amend the reservation, and Gina was very nice and accommodating. She was able to get us 2 queens instead of the 1 king bed even though they were pretty full.

We ate in the restaurant Friday night, and the food was fabulous!! It was supposed to be a 1-night stay, but Saturday morning we decided we weren't ready to end our mini-vacation yet. The front desk was able to accommodate us again, and we stayed in the same room. The hotel is conveniently located within a few miles of both South Coast Plaza and the Irvine Spectrum, so we had plenty of dining and shopping options. We discussed going to a different restaurant for dinner Saturday, but in the end decided to go back to the restaurant on site. Dinner Saturday was just as good, if not better, than Friday night!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I actually bumped up my rating one star simply because of the restaurant on site. To respond to a few other previously mentioned problems...yes, parking is limited and due to the prevalence of SUVs, the larger spaces are full way before evening arrives...but it's free. Adapt. Stay in. Enjoy the lovely hotel you're paying for and go to the Chateau for dinner. The free breakfast is also a very nice plus. It gets the job done, and if you're traveling with kids, it's very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formerlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear formerlocal,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are so very pleased to see that our on-site restaurant helped improve your overall experience here. It is nice to see that you were able to thoroughly enjoy the hotel during your visit, especially in terms of the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. We hope to see you another time soon and thank you again for taking the time to leave a positive review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience here.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing