We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at the Ayres Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We love staying at the Ayres Suites, Costa Mesa. It is close to shopping and everything in Newport Beach and Costa Mesa. It has a great breakfast and good parking. The price is very reasonable and it has a feel of a boutique hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

My fabulous experience began before I even arrived, and my visit was on a whim. I made my reservation Wed. night for a Fri. arrival, then invited my sister to join Thurs. morning. She said yes, so I called the hotel to amend the reservation, and Gina was very nice and accommodating. She was able to get us 2 queens instead of the 1 king bed even though they were pretty full.

We ate in the restaurant Friday night, and the food was fabulous!! It was supposed to be a 1-night stay, but Saturday morning we decided we weren't ready to end our mini-vacation yet. The front desk was able to accommodate us again, and we stayed in the same room. The hotel is conveniently located within a few miles of both South Coast Plaza and the Irvine Spectrum, so we had plenty of dining and shopping options. We discussed going to a different restaurant for dinner Saturday, but in the end decided to go back to the restaurant on site. Dinner Saturday was just as good, if not better, than Friday night!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I actually bumped up my rating one star simply because of the restaurant on site. To respond to a few other previously mentioned problems...yes, parking is limited and due to the prevalence of SUVs, the larger spaces are full way before evening arrives...but it's free. Adapt. Stay in. Enjoy the lovely hotel you're paying for and go to the Chateau for dinner. The free breakfast is also a very nice plus. It gets the job done, and if you're traveling with kids, it's very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formerlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear formerlocal,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are so very pleased to see that our on-site restaurant helped improve your overall experience here. It is nice to see that you were able to thoroughly enjoy the hotel during your visit, especially in terms of the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. We hope to see you another time soon and thank you again for taking the time to leave a positive review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience here.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

First time at the Ayers Hotel (Costa Mesa), I was kind of wary of the location because of my 9 month old son. I thought the airplanes taking off at John Wayne Airport would be very noisy, especially at night. But to my surprise, it was just fine. My son liked seeing the airplanes in the sky during the day. Once you figure out what is around the hotel, it is a good location. The South Coast Mall is relatively close by. The staff are very nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and nice, breakfast was included in my stay and it is a breakfast, not just muffin's and coffee. But as one person pointed out, the parking is cramped even for "compact" cars. Overall a good experience and I would recommend giving it a try if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel appears to be part of a small chain that provides standard big chain amenities with a quaint hotel feel. The hotel itself is nice and the restaurant had good food at a good value. The staff was also responsive, friendly, and helpful. I would stay here again when in town on business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We've stayed at this Ayers before, but aren't sure about returning. Some things to consider: wifi on the third floor was unusable, with a pathetically weak signal; parking is extremely cramped especially if you return late in the evening - if you have a large vehicle, good luck; there were three false fire alarms during the night - mentioned the ruined night's sleep at checkout and barely got an apology from desk staff at checkout.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor if you need their wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheresperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Wheresperry -

Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to write a review. I apologize about the inconvenience with the lack of parking spaces. Sometimes when we are sold out it can be difficult to find parking, but on the other side along the suites building there is additional parking as well. I understand that not having WiFi in your room can also be very inconvenient during your stay. I have talked with the tech team in the hotel and we are working to ensure the signal stronger on the third floor. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry for the inconvenience during the stay and I hope you will consider to continue to stay with us in the future.

Regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

You must visit the hotel bar and restaurant. The bartender Jose makes your bar experience great. After learning the types of cocktails I enjoy, he suggested some of his specialty drinks. They were all delicious. We had a large party for dinner and the waiters and staff were flawless. We all agreed that our dinners were a culinary delight!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliettemarie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Juliettemarie38,

We are more than delighted to see that you enjoyed your weekend here at our hotel. Your kind words and compliments of the service during your dining experience are greatly appreciated and will surely be shared with the team. It is nice to see that our bartender was able to suggest specialty drinks based on your preferences. We hope you will visit another time in the near future and thank you for taking the time to leave a flattering review of our hotel and restaurant.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
1.8 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $131 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing