We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Riverside, California
1 review
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Staff was wonderful and helpful. My wife and I are from Southern California, but we needed a quick/easy getaway. Ayres definitely provided that and the location is so close to the beach and other great hang out spots (South Coast Plaza, The Block, Fashion Island, etc.). Even though this hotel is located right by the airport and freeway, inside the room was extremely quiet. Clean bathrooms, the room itself is incredibly clean, and the beds are wonderfully comfortable. The hot breakfast provided was worth it as well. If you have kids, or even if you don't, the whole family can enjoy french toast, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, country style potatoes and more. I was just blown away at how much this place exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Bryan W.,

We are so pleased to see that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent visit. It is nice to know that you found your room accommodations to be quiet, clean and comfortable. Thank you for the compliments on the great location and complimentary breakfast buffet. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you another time soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know how exceptional a stay with us can be. We cannot wait to welcome you again!

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    357
    114
    40
    24
See reviews for
371
235
68
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love staying at the Ayres. When we visit my sister's place sometimes her house isn't large enough for all of us so we stay at the Ayres. It's beautiful, comfortable, elegant, and service is great! Feels like home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

the staff was great the location was convenient and the value was exceptional. be sure to try the jet tub in the suites. this hotel was very quiet even though it is close to the airport and two freeways.

Room Tip: the suite rooms are large and very quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: re use your towels honestly when you are drying off you are clean you don't need a new towel hang it up and save water
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the only hotel chain we stay in when we are in SoCal! This was a quick last minute trip and the usual one we stay in in Anaheim was all booked up! We decided to try Costa Mesa and were super excited that it was the same great rooms, breakfast, and service we have has before in Anaheim! It's comforting to know that I can stay at any Ayres hotel and feel at home!! Costa Mesa Ayres hotel was awesome! Thank you!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janb1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Janb1537,

We are so very pleased to see that you enjoy staying at any of our various locations but especially ours. It is nice to know you choose our hotels for your quick last minute trip. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know how exceptional a stay with us can truly be. We greatly appreciate your compliments of how pleasant the service, rooms, and location are. We cannot wait to welcome you another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Check-in is as easy as a phone call; Cookies available on check in are top notch; the Bistro has 5-star food and service; business accommodations have recently been improved and the staff quickly embrace you as family... your return is like coming home.

Room Tip: All rooms are good ... second and third floor west side (beach side) are very quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Ayres are eco-friendly, right down to the rabbits living at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasdonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I called the hotel with my bedding and pillow preferences explaining we wouldn't be checking in until 10p then joked asking they save me some cookies.  We checked in at 9:30p with Melissa.  What  an excellent representative of this fantastic hotel.  She reconfirmed the bed nearest the bathroom had hypo-allergenic pillows and blankets (asthma) and the other bed had the down and feathers.  Then she hands me our cookies! Amazing!  We had requested and received a quiet room facing the courtyard and didn't even hear a door close.  Our room was immaculate, coffee, mini frig, bathroom amenities, free wifi, and the microwave is by the ice machine down the hall.
The room remodel is just about complete and the huge Christmas tree in the lobby is beautiful. Our room seemed wider than in the past? This was our third December visit to the Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa.  The main elevator broke on Saturday and wouldn't be fixed until Monday which made checking out on Sunday a little difficult.  There is a rear elevator but you have to walk outside through the courtyard, very chilly at 6:30am.  The complimentary full breakfast buffet looked wonderful but I only had time to make a bacon sandwich.  I saw big chafing dishes of bacon, eggs, french toast, hash browns, bowls of fruit, baskets of muffins and several cereals.  In another area, a variety of coffees, creamers and a basket of bread near the toaster.
The hotel is practically next door to SNA and kitty corner across the street on Bristol and Red Hill there's a hole in the wall Chinese restaurant Al Palace, our first stop every trip. Excellent and huge portions, it's sort of challenging driving there because of the one way street but a left on Campus then back on Bristol if driving or walking 2 blocks away.
Ayres is so convenient to South Coast Plaza AND the Orange County MarketPlace (huge swap meet Sat/Sun 7a-4p). We had a rental car but I know the hotel shuttle makes runs to So Coast Plaza.
I appreciated the reconfirmation email from Ayres' GM a few days before our arrival, listing shopping places, restaurants, nearby attractions, hotel shuttle and directions.  To me, the email conclusion said it all..."Our primary goal is to provide the most comfortable and convenient hotel experience possible."
Can't wait to go back next December!

Room Tip: Inside rooms facing the courtyard are quiet and a pretty view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Gina was extremely pleasant & patient in helping us find 2 connecting rooms with queen beds on the top floor away from the elevator.
Very comfortable beds, great pillows, water pressure was great in the shower.
Good breakfast with yogurt, fresh fruit, oatmeal, granola, honey.
Overall a wonderful stay!
- J

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing