We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of charm in the OC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 19, 2013

When you walk into the lobby you feel like you are in a small country inn. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The entire hotel is very clean and well maintained. My only complaint - a small one is the room décor - it could be updated to go along with the country inn feel. The walls were stark and barren and the lighting terrible. Obviously designed by a man - it was almost impossible to apply makeup in the bad lighting - I only hoped I didn't look like I was a visiting circus clown when I left the room. The breakfast was plentiful and hot - a rare treat for a buffet. The free parking was welcomed in the OC where they stick it to you for parking.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room - the outdoor walkways are less secure at night for women travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Ayres Costa Mesa a number of times. We have also tried many of the other hotels in OC and always end-up going back to Ayres. They have great staff, great service, great free breakfast, and great accommodations. All at a reasonable price. Oh yah, they have free parking! Others charge for parking!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location to John .wayne airport. Convenient hotel shuttle was able to take us to many spots. Rooms were very clean, Staff most helpful. Delicious breakfasts! Staff in front lobby were most helpful too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldf2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Idf2010,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. We are so delighted to see that you enjoyed our complimentary full American breakfast buffet. It is also nice to see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle. Thank you for the compliments on the accommodating service, we truly strive to offer the highest quality of service and are thrilled to see that we succeeded in that goal with your stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you another time in the near future.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I cannot rave enough about my stay at this hotel. Not only was the hotel absolutely beautiful, but the staff was super friendly and shuttle service was a lifesaver! The rooms were very comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub was a relaxing surprise. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Sabrina o,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a flattering review of our hotel on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience. We are so pleased to see that you loved our hotel and felt inspired enough to leave a five star review. Thank you for your compliments on our service, it is such a pleasure to see that we left such a great impression. We are delighted to see that you were able to utilize the complimentary shuttle and enjoy the whirlpool tub. We do hope you will come stay another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is a great place to stay! I've been staying here for the last two (2) months during the week for business. I only wish it had been a personal trip instead of business so that I could have shared the wonderful experience with my family.

The rooms are very nice and well accommodated and the customer service is impeccable.

Anyone coming to Southern California for business or pleasure would be fortunate to stay at the Ayres and experience the quiet comfort they provide.

Room Tip: Over the last two (2) months, I've stayed in a number of rooms (eight) and in different location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Brad C,

Thank you for your kindly worded review to let others on TripAdvisor know about your recent experience at our hotel, it is more than appreciated! We cannot thank you enough for the compliments on our service, we truly strive to offer the highest possible guest satisfaction and are greatly pleased to see that we succeeded in that goal with your business trip. We hope you will come stay another time and bring your family along for another great experience. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great place to stay near John Wayne Airport. Solid shuttle service. Rooms clean and service is great. The breakfast is very good. I feel that I am important to the staff and this is a very nice business traveler hotel.

Room Tip: The Suites across the parking lot ar ethe best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Mark P,

It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest recently. Thank you for the more than favorable review of your experience at our hotel, we truly appreciate it. We are pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service and enjoyed the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. You truly are important to us, we are so delighted to know that this was conveyed to you during your stay. We hope to see you another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

They shuttled me around to various places I needed to go, the restaurant and business center areas are very accomodating, and the customer service attitude of all the staff is outstanding. I will make it a priority to make this "home base" for all my travels in the Irvine area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DERfamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.8 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $138 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing