We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business trip visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Excellent business trip visit!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

They shuttled me around to various places I needed to go, the restaurant and business center areas are very accomodating, and the customer service attitude of all the staff is outstanding. I will make it a priority to make this "home base" for all my travels in the Irvine area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERfamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    378
    116
    41
    27
See reviews for
397
244
69
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

First time staying at an Ayres property, and overall it. Was a good experience. The hotel building and layout are die rent than your run of the mill hotel. Rooms are situated around either an internal courtyard, or the outdoor pool. The rooms are very lovely with an olde world ambiance. The rooms were always clean with plenty of amenities provided and the staff were very pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable. The breakfast each morning which was included, was a step up from the express breakfast that other hotels provide, and was hot and delicious each time. My two negatives are minor, but were important to me, so I feel they need mentioning. The first is that while the hotel is located in an upscale beach town the actual location of the hotel is more down market in appearance. This is unfortunate, because it is only a couple if minutes from Fashion Island, Balboa Island And many other very elite areas. If you are driving into the parking lot for the first time, or looking out your exterior window, Newport Beach/Costa Mesa is the last place you would think you are staying, and that detracts from initial impression. The second area of disappointment was this; we booked a room whose cost included a two and a half hour whale watching tour. This was something we haven't done before. In this area so thought it would be fun. On the day we proceeded to the tour operator on Balboa Island, we discovered that it would have been cheaper to pay separately for the tour as we were staying for three days at the hotel, and by choosing this package the prorated cost of the tour made it much more expensive. We proceeded on the tour on a very old boat, there are much nicer, newer and price comparable tours in the same area. Off we went on a beautiful, sunny, warm and fairly calm day. The skipper was well informed, and stopped whenever he saw wildlife, but unfortunately none of the wild life were whales, porpoises and dolphins, but no whales. That was fine, luck of the draw we figured, until we got back into shore. A fellow passenger as the captain had he spotted any whales on the days previous excursion, to which the captain replied <oh no! it's too early for the migration, they won't get to us until February! So as you can imagine, I felt slightly ripped off, disappointed and generally hosed! I am not aware if the hotel is informed of these facts before they sell <whale watching tours> to their guests! but if it is not the correct time of year to go for this activity! don't sell it as such! Overall the hotel was an enjoyable experience, and with the proviso's listed previously, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If quiet is a pressing need for you, insist on a rear room that does not over look the highway out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We used FF miles for this 3 night stay. The hotel location is great for travelers. The room was sparsely decorated but amazingly quiet - especially being so close to the freeway and airport.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Jan L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. We are so pleased to see that you found our hotel to have a good location and great service. Thank you for your feedback on the room decor, it is greatly appreciated and we will take it into consideration when making improvements to the hotel. We hope to welcome you another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Looking for a place to re-charge? Look no further than this hotel.
It will AMAZE you from the minute you step in to the lobby and feel the warm welcome from the staff and feast your eyes on their Christmas decorations.
We stayed in the mini-suite and got a late check out, it will make such a difference.
Be sure to stop by the pool and jacuzzi with lounge area was such a treat.
Dinner must be had at their restaurant, simply AMAZING food. I had the Salmon Bountiful Salad and it sure lived up to it's name. You will not want to ever leave this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place is a gem. Hotel staff is friendly and very efficient. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and exactly what we needed. The shuttle service within a five lie radius is amazing and the full breakfast is delicious. The hotel is very centrally located and can't be beat for all your needs.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a microwave and mini refrigerator so we could keep some wine and snacks in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear TJ S,

We are so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a favorable review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience here. It is nice to know that you found our team to be friendly and efficient, we truly strive to offer the highest quality of service and are so very delighted to see that we succeeded in that goal with your visit. We are also thrilled to see that you were able to take full advantage of the complimentary shuttle and enjoyed the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. We hope to see you another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was amazed and surprized from the moment of arrival to departure how exquisite this hotel is. The staff from registration to the maintenance staff ensured that our every need was met. Very clean and well maintained and compares to Mission Inn, Riverside and Merriot, Indian Wells in decore. Luxurious beds and lots of pillows, I can't remember when I have had a better nights rest! Thank you Ayres owners and staff for a wonderfull stay. Looking forward the next stay. PS the breakfast buffet was super!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyking5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely European-style Boutique hotel. Beautiful interiors. Clean & smells good! Even elevator smelled clean! Treated courteously & promptly at desk. Open courtyard w/tables & fountain. Restaurant is like a pub & intimate feeling. Rooms have been updated/spacious. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Bed was a little stiff for my husband and myself; however, beds are a personal preference and diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing