We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST mini Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Looking for a place to re-charge? Look no further than this hotel.
It will AMAZE you from the minute you step in to the lobby and feel the warm welcome from the staff and feast your eyes on their Christmas decorations.
We stayed in the mini-suite and got a late check out, it will make such a difference.
Be sure to stop by the pool and jacuzzi with lounge area was such a treat.
Dinner must be had at their restaurant, simply AMAZING food. I had the Salmon Bountiful Salad and it sure lived up to it's name. You will not want to ever leave this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place is a gem. Hotel staff is friendly and very efficient. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and exactly what we needed. The shuttle service within a five lie radius is amazing and the full breakfast is delicious. The hotel is very centrally located and can't be beat for all your needs.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a microwave and mini refrigerator so we could keep some wine and snacks in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear TJ S,

We are so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a favorable review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience here. It is nice to know that you found our team to be friendly and efficient, we truly strive to offer the highest quality of service and are so very delighted to see that we succeeded in that goal with your visit. We are also thrilled to see that you were able to take full advantage of the complimentary shuttle and enjoyed the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. We hope to see you another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was amazed and surprized from the moment of arrival to departure how exquisite this hotel is. The staff from registration to the maintenance staff ensured that our every need was met. Very clean and well maintained and compares to Mission Inn, Riverside and Merriot, Indian Wells in decore. Luxurious beds and lots of pillows, I can't remember when I have had a better nights rest! Thank you Ayres owners and staff for a wonderfull stay. Looking forward the next stay. PS the breakfast buffet was super!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyking5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely European-style Boutique hotel. Beautiful interiors. Clean & smells good! Even elevator smelled clean! Treated courteously & promptly at desk. Open courtyard w/tables & fountain. Restaurant is like a pub & intimate feeling. Rooms have been updated/spacious. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Bed was a little stiff for my husband and myself; however, beds are a personal preference and diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I do not know how this hotel got such high ratings, but it is not fabulous as may people are stating. That is how i got hooked in. The so called suites were very standard.
The only difference is it has a spa tub inside bathroom. You have to wait until tub fills up with water, get out and go to the wall switch to turn it on. The heads are not adjustable, so do not plan on it being a custom massage experience. I think it is over priced, over rated and out dated. Room was stuffy and small for being a so called "Suite" Outside spa was dirty. The workout room was small and smelled like sweat. Breakfast was good, but not great, because food is made in quantities, it was not very tasty. Free breakfast have signs on the table saying "gratuities not included". The only positive thing I have to say is that some of the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is such thing as a "good room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasmile34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Anasmile34,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a candid review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. While we are pleased to see that you found our service to be pleasant, we sincerely apologize if the rest of your stay was anything less than exceptional. Typically people truly enjoy the complimentary full American breakfast and we are devastated to see that you were not completely satisfied. Please accept our sincerest apologies if you found your accommodations to be outdated or of lesser quality; we truly strive to offer an experience unlike any other and are disappointed to see that you had a less than satisfactory opinion of the accommodations provided. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will be sure to keep it in mind when making improvements to the hotel. We do hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations by far! The staff was courteous and efficient and the hotel was beautiful. Our room was extremely comfortable and the beds were great. The full breakfast buffet was sufficient and for the price we paid, was well worth it! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We'd stayed here before for a wedding, so knew it was a nice place. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel lobby and grounds are very pleasant. Currently they are decorating for the holidays and it already looks great.
The restaurant serves a full breakfast which is part of the stay. We also had a late dinner splitting a turkey club sandwich which was delicious.

Room Tip: Book a top floor to avoid hearing people walking about you. Do NOT get the fireplace rooms as they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robininfresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: $150 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing