We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a Great Find!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked this for 2 nights as we were visiting family in Costa Mesa. It's across from one of the runways at John Wayne Airport but you heard very little jet noise. Check-in was effortless and we loved our suite.

It was nice having a separate BR from the LR area. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We thought the breakfast buffet was fantastic. There was a big selection of items and all were well-prepared.

The last time we visited this area, we stayed at the Fairmont. That was lovely but we ended up liking the Ayres Hotel more and will book again when we're back in CA. The room rates were very favorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank It'sTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear It'sTimeToTravel -

Thank you so much for allowing us to welcome you and for taking a chance on an unknown hotel. We are absolutely thrilled to have provided the kind of service and amenities that will bring you back to us for another visit and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area. Thank you for your review!

Safe travels,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    381
    116
    42
    27
See reviews for
401
245
70
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I are in love with this hotel. Luxury. We feel like a million dollars when we are here because of the kind staff (including the breakfast staff!)! It is very clean, stylish, and comfortable. The pool and hot tub are excellent. Every time we stay here we are so glad that we did! It is BEAUTIFUL. Unfortunately, I do get a special rate with another hotel chain, and it is often less expensive than this. But when we do splurge and stay here, we love every minute!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Joel L -

Thank you for making us your splurge! We are always happy to know our service and decor have made a difference in a guest's hotel stay and are thrilled to have made such an impression. We want you to stay here as often as possible too, so please feel free to call us any time you are visiting to see what special rates and promotions we have available. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Safe travels,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Relaxing place to stay with great staff. Excellent value in Southern California. Like the idea that you can rent bicicles on the premisis as there is a nice trail nearby tha you can ride to the beach. Centrally located between Irvine and Huntington Beach area and near the Orange County Airport.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlookinmg the courtyard or pool in nthe main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Christine -

Wow! What a very kind review of our hotel. To be called the "best in Southern California" is an absolute honor. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your visit and for sharing your experience online. I am so pleased you found the location and added amenities (such as our bicycle rentals) conducive to your needs. We are very grateful for your review and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend numerous times. The whole experience here is a class act. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, very European-the rooms very nice (love the furniture style!) with bar and fridge. Love the breakfast in the morning, think it was included in the price. Always nice to go down to the jacuzzi for a relaxing soak. This is one of the nicest hotel chains around! Love staying here!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momplayinghookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been using Ayres Hotels personally and for our church retreats for the last 12 years and have always been treated with great accommodations and service. The decor of the Ayres Hotels are so beautiful, the pool area so pleasant, and the beds in these spacious beautiful rooms offer a great night of sleep. You cannot go wrong with choosing Ayres Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eph411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ayres is bringing European style into Southern California. And this is perhaps one of the most decorated Ayres property. The high ceiling lobby decorated with antique sofa and ship model handicrafts definitely make this hotel one of the kind. Also breakfast area is one very unique restaurant of it's own. Library style setting is something very hard to find in a 3-4* hotel.Room is nice and clean with a lounge area and a flat screen TV. European style bed is signature to Ayres. Breakfast was quite standard. Scramble egg, bacon, pancake, oatmeal, cereal, toast, milk, juice, and coffee. Other Ayres has omelet but I guess it's more difficult for this one since the dining area mainly serve as a regular restaurant. The pool is very nice with Jacuzzi and cabanas, which is a pleasant surprise. Most of the rooms facing indoor hall way but the ones facing the pool and garden have outdoor hall way (but still facing inward, not out toward street like motels.) The only thing I might have complaint about is that the hotel is under room modification construction. I was assigned to a room close to construction so I was waken early on a Sunday morning. Other than that it's all perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neo1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa several times for business. Overall - an incredible value for the area. Free, hot breakfast is also a very nice perk & they offer a shuttle that will drop you off & pick you up in the surrounding 5 mile radius. Very easy way to get to/from Southcoast Plaza mall if you have some free time. The rooms are well appointed & clean but the decor does make me giggle - it's a little Renaissance Festival themed if you ask me but it works. It's an incredible price for Orange County and they also offer free {outdoor} parking for guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,538 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing