We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
2 reviews
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Ayres while in town for our daughters rowing regatta. The staff was excellent from the first phone call to make the reservations all the way up to checking out. The hotel was lovely, clean, comfortable, easy to find, and more than we could hope for. We will stay here again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Frissy -

Thank you so much for your positive review. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and are thankful for your kind words. We love exceeding guest expectations and are thrilled to have provided you with such exceptional accommodations. You should definitely visit our on-site restaurant, Le Chateau, during your next visit!

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    319
    95
    33
    20
See reviews for
338
206
60
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our second stay with our kid's rowing team. This hotel is wonderful, beautiful and so comfortable. Love staying here, just wish we had more time to luxurate in it. On this trip the only unfortunate thing was my room was not ready when I got there at 3:10 pm. I wanted to get checked in before the team got there and ended up waiting for 30 minutes for the room to be finished being cleaned. I was unhappy about that, but the room was very clean once I got in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darcanfot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Darcanfot -

It was such a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. How wonderful to know that you found your stay so exceptional. I do apologize that your room was not immediately available to you at our normal check-in time. There are sometimes delays due to late check-outs and higher occupancy. I am pleased this did not sour you on our hotel and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ang
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went here for a business trip and conference. The hotel was very accomodating for our group of 70. The room was nice, clean, spacious and really nothing bad to say. I liked it. The grounds were quaint and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Tara -

It was a pleasure welcoming you and hosting the recent conference. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled you found your stay so comfortable and that we were able to take care of your group so well. Hopefully you will have the chance to visit us again very soon!

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have stayed at this Ayres several times now. Very quiet hotel, responsive and helpful staff. Good breakfast - fresh, hot, varied. Lovely decor, traditional tasteful. Very nice common areas.
Will stay here again, travel to SoCal frequently.

Room Tip: Have stayed several times and have been pleased with all rooms, both in the main building and the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonIrishRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear BostonIrishRose -

We appreciate your kind words! Thank you so much for your continued patronage and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled the complimentary full breakfast made such an impression. Looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our rowing team stayed at the hotel. Parents and about 80 kids. The staff was well organized and helpful. I was so impressed. Really nice hotel with small boutique feel. Restaurant was great. Beds comfy. Would use again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We always stay at this hotel when in town. It is so comfortable and the staff is polite and helpful. The beds are great and the rooms and hallways are very clean. The lobby in the adjoining building is cozy and pleasant to sit in with the fireplace going. Breakfast is more than adequate. The hotel is close to everywhere we want to go while here.

Room Tip: The adjoining building seems to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Frances -

Thank you so much for your review and for making us your choice of hotel in the area. We know there are so many hotels to choose from, so it means a great deal to us that you keep returning. It sounds as if you continually find every aspect of the hotel welcoming and comfortable and we are thrilled to provide you such consistent stays. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent breakfast. You don't feel like you're in a cafeteria. Lobby is very pleasant and refined. It was decorated very formally with classical music playing - perhaps their trademark . Room is great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinneapolisPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MinneapolisPatrick -

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It was such a pleasure welcoming you as our guest and I am so pleased you found the decor inviting and your guestroom comfortable. Our hotels are all European-inspired boutique hotels, so you are correct about the trademark! We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing