We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ayres Costa Mesa - perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leakey
1 review
“Ayres Costa Mesa - perfect”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My stay at this hotel was the most perfect stay ever at any hotel. It was beautiful, comfortable, clean, and very well staffed. Every single person I encountered was warm, friendly, helpful, accommodating and pleasant. I was exhausted and, thankfully, was able to check in early. The food was excellent and very reasonable, even delivered to my room. I was only there over night but was made to feel welcome and at home in such a beautiful, comfortable setting. It was such a wonderful experience that was far too short. My family really believed I was staying in southern California - a permanent resident of the Ayres Costa Mesa!

Room Tip: Although I did not have one, I believe a room on the second floor overlooking the pool or the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear June -

Thank you for the amazing compliments! To be described as "perfect" is a hotel's dream and I am thrilled we made such a wonderful impression on you. We want nothing more than for our guests to be completely satisfied with every aspect of the hotel, from the cleanliness of the rooms to the service. It is fantastic that we were able to give you all of this and more. We are very thankful for being your choice of hotel and hope you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    378
    116
    41
    27
See reviews for
397
244
69
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The service makes this place a gem. Everyone in the hotel and restaurant are so welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor facing the East for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCVLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear SVCLinda -

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment and for choosing our hotel for your stay! I will be sure to pass along your comments to the rest of the team. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope you will visit us again very soon!

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel June 10th & June 11th 2012. We arrived at noon and were able to check in although the check in is not until 3:00 p.m. Staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The room we had was a junior suite room 291. The room was huge with a very comfortable king size bed, sofa and desk with free wifi. The bed had lovely linens and oh so comfy mattress. The bathroom was also huge and came with a jetted bathtub. The location is very near the John Wayne Airport and many airline crews stay here. We were also treated to a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. All in all a surprising find and would recommend to anyone staying in this area.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a room anywhere in this property would be bad. The down side however is that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Polette -

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to surprise you with our comfortable accommodations and warm service. Each of our team members takes the guest experience very seriously, so it is wonderful to know that your stay with us was so remarkable. I am also pleased to hear that you found the bedding so comfortable as the Ayres Dream Sleeper mattress is well tested and we find that many of our guests absolutely LOVE them. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Ayres to attend a wedding. We arrived early and they did their best to take care of us. The employee at the front desk was wonderful. The lobby was very nice, and had cookies in the afternoon. We stayed in a suite, and it had a microwave, and fridge, which was nice along with a separate sink. The breakfast in the morning was very good and we were always greeted with a smile. Our room was very quiet, even though it is very close to the airport, it was not an issue. We had a beautiful view. The pool in the second building which houses the suites is not as spacious as the other, but no one was there, so it was fine.

If you stay in the other building, be sure to ask if the pool area or patio are being used, the were when we were there, and I would imagine if your room was surrounding this area it could be a distraction and you are not able to use the pool area.

I am not sure if the hotel lets people know when they make reservations or not, as I stated we were in the other building.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay in the building with the suites ask for a room overlooking the little strip mall next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judygolfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Judygolfing -

It was such a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. We appreciate you making us your choice of accommodations during such a celebratory event. We are always pleased to know that a guest finds everything from our accommodations, to our service pleasant and conducive to a comfortable stay. Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Safe travels,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Ayres at Costa Mesa is a very welcoming Boutique Hotel. with a family welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very cordial and helpful. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms look like they have been recently updated, The restaurant food was good and the service was very good. You get to know the familiar faces of the servers and they also get to know you. They provide Shuttle service to several local places, making your stay that much more comfortable. I recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area. It is close to many places of interest as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Adriana730 -

Thank you so much for your very thorough review of our hotel. It means a great deal to us that you found your hotel visit so comfortable. I am pleased you had the opportunity to experience every aspect of our hotel, from the warm service to the delicious cuisine at Le Chateau Restaurant. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very beautiful hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights and this hotel is simply immaculate. Very clean, serene environment. The staff is professional, kind and helpful. 5 star service and accomodations for a very reasonable price. Will stay here again and again when I visit SoCal. Thank you Ayres for a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard view.. stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocean610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Ocean610 -

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel. We are always thrilled to have provided a guest with the ultimate in service and comfort, so I am pleased we were able to make your stay so exceptional. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and do hope to be your choice of hotel when visiting Southern California in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I chose this property because it was the best value and offered free parking compared to other surrounding hotels that aren't Motel 6. Location is a decent driving distance to Newport Beach and South Coast plaza.. And expect to be doing a lot of that, driving! Exiting this property only allows one way direction.. If you see something you like that is West, you'll have to find your way around the freeway to get there.. Stayed the weekend and it was near empty.. Definitely a weekday working (wo)man's hotel, and the fact that the weekday rate is higher confirms this.. The staff was very friendly, the room looked great!.. Leather sofa in a basic room was a nice touch..

My reason for rating just Average is because the few things that were an issue REALLY bother me: the A/C here sucks!!!! It didn't matter if it was set to 70 or 60 degrees, the room did not cool! I called the front desk multiple times and they apologzied and said maintenance would come up but no one ever came.. It got so bad I had to keep the window open the entire stay, luckily there was a cool breeze.. But now this place is right next to the airport so now with the window open I got to hear every airplane taking off--total buzz kill for a pleasant and relaxing stay here.. The other thing is the shower has no water pressure.. :-/

I think next time I'm better off forking out a few extra bucks and staying at some place with better accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear GzyOnline -

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize if your stay was anything less than remarkable. While I am pleased you enjoyed the rooms and service, I am sorry if the issue with the air conditioner was not resolved promptly and efficiently and that it impeded the quality of your stay. We make every effort to ensure that guest requests for maintenance issues are addressed immediately so our guests can experience the most comfortable possible hotel visit. Again, I am sorry this was not handled to your satisfaction and have already shared your comments with the Maintenance Team so guests will not be made to deal with faulty air conditioners in the future. Thank you again for your review and I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing