We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply nice!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The property is clean and well maintained. We booked a jr suite and due to our request for a courtyard view at check in, we were put into a deluxe...the front desk manager should have informed us that we would not get a suite (we would have opt for the suite instead and would have saved us time and hassle of changing room later in the evening after we got back from dinner.) Our room key did not work after coming back from dinner and so we were at the front desk getting new keys when we found out of the room mix up. Allen (night front desk rep) did a great job in compensating for our inconvenience.

Our suite room was in the second building on the 3rd floor facing the main building ( room 388). Overall, it was a little more spacious and quiet. (The courtyard view is nice but we can imagine the early morning noises from patrons having breakfast)

The complimentary breakfast was great and convenient with decent good breakfast fare (nothing to rave about but acceptable)

We would highly recommend this hotel for family with children and others too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamboo222SanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    378
    116
    41
    27
See reviews for
397
244
69
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are staying in the John Wayne airport area, this is most definitely your hotel. It is very comfortable, cozy, spacious beyond belief (the rooms have a bed or two , a two to three person couch with a center table, a desk, a table with two chairs, a kitchenette and in some cases even a hot tub) and inexpensive. It has not one but two very comfortable lobbies, a pool and other amenities. They give you free breakfast, free parking and a very efficient shuttle service to places like the airport, UCI, Fashion Island and other attractions. And the price is about the same as other hotels from the area, such as the Atrium, which are way, way worse. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is quite clean and the service is spotless. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. I have stayed there five times and each time I like it more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and huge. Those in the second building and the higher floors tend to be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goleta
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2012

superb. friendly, cosy, great breakfasts, upgrade without request (because we had booked a king, but only 2 queens available), spacious.

Room Tip: farthest from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice always cleaned rooms. Huge bad, but sometimes if you want to sleep till noon airplanes would not give you such chance.

Breakfast is pretty good, and you have some choice. But unfortunately if you stay there for a long time you would certainly notice that it never changes. And it is difficult to eat same food every day.

There 2 pools with warm water. But as for me, I would prefer one pool but at least 25m long, because those two are a bit short if you can swim well.

The personnel is very friendly. All of them are willing to help you in case you ask.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful campus, incredibly nice staff, clean and comfortable rooms, amazing complimentary breakfast, easy to get around. Five of us attended for a conference, but came a day early for meetings. There were nice places to meet and talk both outside and inside. We felt spoiled!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed 3 nights on a business trip. The hotel has a lovely courtyard with a fountain and fragrant plants. I would again request a room with a view of the courtyard, as with the window open the sound of the fountain is lovely. Clean and service-oriented place. Fun restaurants within easy walking distance. Full breakfast included with the room was excellent. Excellent and timely shuttle service. Definitely will stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Request window overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Oregonmom1 -

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you for three nights. We wish for nothing more than for our guests to leave our hotel completely satisfied with the hotel's service and offerings, so it is heartening to know that we were able to do this for you. We often have guests comment on the elegant European feel of our courtyard as well and I appreciate you pointing this out to fellow travelers. Thank you so much for your recommendation. Hopefully you will visit the area again very soon and give us the chance to welcome you once again.

Many thanks,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel this past weekend while in town for a wedding. Check-in on Friday night was super easy. I asked for (and was granted) a complimentary upgrade, and the gentleman, Allen, at the front desk couldn't have been nicer. The room itself was nice furnishings. The decor and ambiance of the main areas (lobbies, elevators, etc.) were all very classy, nice, and welcoming. Breakfast the next day was good - not great - but since it is included in the rate I don't have any major complaints. Offering bananas at breakfast would be a nice addition though! The staff was all very friendly, including the gentleman who was painting the outside of the building on Saturday morning. Free parking is a plus, since most places do charge for it. Same thing with free internet. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to family and friends. Thanks, Ayres!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolaHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Hlafe -

It was a pleasure having the chance to welcome you to our hotel. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. The Ayres Hotels of Southern California are a family owned and operated chain of hotels and great care is taken in the details of each property, so we are appreciative that you found the decor so inviting. Your comments regarding our team are greatly appreciated as well and have been shared to ensure each team member knows he or she is acknowledged and appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to have you back. Thank you again.

Safe travels,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,520 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Property: Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Address: 325 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing