We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Vine Cafe

Old Vine Cafe
Ranked #7 of 506 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Old Vine Cafe! We are open daily for breakfast and lunch, and Tuesday through Saturday for dinner! Stop in and join us, or call us about catering options.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

You have to try the Mac and Cheese it is excellent. Breakfast is also very good but there is a line.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    39
    17
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
646 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Continues to excel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've been eating at Old Vine for years and have never been disappointed. The dinner menus are eclectic and rich in flavor. The wine pairings are truly pairings and bring out flavors in the food. Old Vine's greatest strength is that you leave richly satisfied, but not feeling stuffed. They bombard you with flavors.

Breakfast/lunch is also excellent, though a somewhat more conventional experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“still excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had not been here for some time but came with colleagues for brunch on a Saturday morning. We managed to beat the rush and were quickly seated whereas others arriving just a few minutes later than our 9:30 arrival had to wait. The food is eclectic to say the least. My colleague had a the goat omlette, I had the eggs and sausage. Both were wonderful. The cinnamon roll was exquisite. My major complaint with the Old Vine is that they do not take reservations which is inconvenient and often leads to long waits (which is why I have not been there for a while). Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bblumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

we have visited the cafe twice now and we absolutely love the food. The scallopps and the Shrimp small plates are to die for. Its a very small restaurant in a great setting, with a few outdoor tables. We had a great experience the first time with excellent service and suggestions from the server. The second time had smae excellent server but it was very slow, with 45 minutes between first and second course and another 35 minutes between the 2nd and 3rd. We love the food and the atmosphere so we will give it another chance however 2.5 hours for dinner for a party of 2 was a bit extreme. One more thing Try the bleucheese cheesecake its amazing!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad2bmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach,CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Everything is amazing at Old Vine!!!! The food is fantastic paired with great wine and the service is 5 star. Old vine is tucked away in the camp a nice cozy location perfect to impress a date or meet with friends. I would suggest to order a few things and split them so you can try every amazing dish that this place has to offer!!! Old Vine Cafe is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vine Cafe also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Old Vine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing