We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!”
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marin Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We were excited to find a 2 bedroom suite. It was nice. HOWEVER, when we arrived home we discovered that our nintendo DS and IPOD and our new box sets of show were missing. We never took them out of the suit case. We called and the General Manager had no apologies said he spoke to his staff and they said they did not see them (like anyone is going to confess and lose their job). we checked the room thoroughly before we left. and never checked the bag because we never used anything in it. DON'T STAY UNLESS YOU DON'T WANT YOUR VALUEABLES ANY MORE. Even if you hide them like we did

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spollnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobandkitty, Manager at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Our hotel is in a beautiful safe upscale neighborhood in Marin County. Our hotel has a state of the art electronic key lock system (which can be interrogated) and every room has a complimentary in-room safe provided for our guests as well as safety deposit boxes available. In our Welcome information, we mention that in this day and age, it is prudent that everyone including our guests, be aware of their surroundings and take precautions to secure all valuables and not leave their doors open or unlocked. To clarify this situation, the guest actually notified management before he departed the Hotel, and met with the General Manager, who investigated the incident. The key lock history was interrogated and there was no record of any keys other than the registered guests and the housekeepers used to unlock the room. The Manager apologized and also identified that his students in the room in question were observed by staff leaving the door propped open when going to breakfast and around the hotel. The majority of our staff has been with us close to 10+ years. In fact they have returned to management many valuables items that guests have left behind, so they can be secured, which is our Standard Operating Procedure. Safety and Security of our guests and our facility is of utmost importance to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 596 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

the place is very tired looking, room had bad odor, service non-existence, pool area ok, clientele very disheveled looking. I stayed one night and was glad to leave although i had planned to stay longer The on-line photos and descriptions are totally fictional. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.

We are and will continue to improve on our guest experience with feedback like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

DO not be fooled by the gorgeous website photos they have. They obviously hired a professional who knew alot about lighting and how to make anything look amazing. I saw the reviews were mixed on tripadvisor before we left for our trip, I should have known better and a good tip-off should have been how affordable it was considering it was in Marin. This is exactly what one reviewer had said, it's nothing more than an old apartment complex that was converted (badly) into a hotel. They attempted to make it look nice by buying new furnishings, but even that couldn't disguise how old and awful this place is. The worst thing was they told us there was a fold out couch to accomodate our whole family (there are 6 of us), and when we opened up the sleeper sofa the sheets that were on it were COVERED in dog hair. It was beyond disgusting. They didn't even offer us a discount after we told them and asked them to have someone come up and put new sheets and blankets on it. The cleanliness over all was not fantastic. The top of the TV cabinet hadn't been dusted it what appeared like months. If this place had true-to-life photos of what it really is, it wouldn't be that bad, they're just trying to pass it off as some trendy, luxurious hotel which it is FAR from.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.

We are and will continue to improve on our guest experience with feedback like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were a little skeptical about how this place would be at first. At under $150 per night for a large two-bedroom apartment, it seemed too good to be true. Plenty of room for 2 parents and 2 teenagers. The rooms aren't decorated very well but the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was servicable and the TV and wired internet worked fine. There is a nice internal courtyard and a heated salt-water pool that we did not use. The free continental breakfast was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Convenient coin laundry. The hotel is located in a sort-of suburban commercial district so no place to walk around. Muir Woods and Sausilito are very close. Berkeley is 30 minutes, and we got to downtown SF in rush hour in 30 minutes There is a Safeway and a shopping mall very close by with national restaurant chains. The entrance to the freeway is block away.

The only drawback was that our unit was in the back near the freeway, so you could hear the traffic noise, but it was more or less white noise to us. You could probably ask for a quieter unit.

It was by far the cheapest accomodation we visited during our 8-day Bay Area vacation. We need two rooms nowadays, and most decent suburban hotels charged at least $100 per room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toomanymileswithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Thank you for taking the time with your review and sharing your experience.

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We were in Marin County for Thanksgiving with family, traveling with my husband, daughter, her husband, and two teenagers. We had a large 2-bedroom suite with kitchen and living room. The only (small) problem was that there was only one bathroom, which with six people was a challenge. However, there was a large flat screened TV in the living room and more modest ones in each bedroom. This is a comfortable spot to hang out between outings. The kitchen has all the appliances, although it is lacking in some dishware, etc. However, when we asked for wine glasses, for instance, we got them almost immediately. The wireless access didn't work, but they provided cables for DSL so we could get on line, and they have a computer with printer in the reception area, which meant our kids could check in and print out boarding passes on line. The continental breakfast is an expanded one, with hard cooked eggs, yogurt, waffles, french toast, etc. This is the second time we have stayed here, and we would do it again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.

We are and will continue to improve on our guest experience with feedback like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My husband chose this hotel the day we were due to stay in the San Francisco area after driving for several hours from Eureka. He found the voucher in a tourist booklet. Needless to say, my expectations were not high!

So you can imagine my immense surprise when I was confronted with an enormous apartment; great kitchen with a dining area, huge bed in the beautiful bedroom, great with free HBO (being Australian and lucky if good comedies even make it a season on our crap tv channels was so excited to watch the new episode of Curb) and nice enough bathroom.

The location is great. Quite fancy! I have never seen so many beautiful people (or European SUVs) in one supermarket! We wanted to stay outside of SF for one night, go to the Muir Woods the next day so it was ideal for us.

The motel has excellent facilities. The pool is delightful, the bbq area lovely, the breakfast delicious and plentiful and free car parking is a huge bonus for travellers as you're looking at $40 plus in the city area. Having access to the internet and a printer (for free in the lobby) was also a massive bonus for us.

My only complaint would be that there was an unusual odour in our lounge room, a musty smell and it wasn't bad enough to even complain to management- but I don't know if there'd been a flooding of the room or what, but it was a bit funky on first opening of the door. Needless to say, we got used to it after a few minutes and only noticed it when we returned to the room after being outside. The smell wasn't in the bedroom and the rooms themselves were very clean.
The bedroom was very quiet, and we slept with our window open.

For an affordable option outside of the city I'd definitely recommend the Marin Suites.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merri175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Thank you for taking the time with your review and sharing your experience.

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

The room was bigger than my apartment. Very nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 09max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Thank you for taking the time with your review and sharing your experience.

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
0.2 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
907 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
5.2 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
5.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range: $132 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing