We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and adequate”
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marin Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel was as expected based on the photos and other reviews. The size of the room was surprisingly large and it is evident the property is being converted from another use. The rooms were clean and served our purpose as a place to stay while touring the area. The breakfast was sparse but sufficient for a quick meal. Stayed at the end of Aug. so the need for A/C was not an issue as mentioned in other reviews but the noise is a factor whether from the parking lot or another inconsiderate guest. Fortunately, the hotel was not fully booked when we stayed so those issues were minimal.

The 2 issues the management could address are: 1) the evening staff person who checked us in was rather abrupt and put out by our late arrival (6 pm). Seeing 2 women traveling with reservations for 2 separate rooms, he proceeded to place us in rooms far apart from each other across the pool area and on separate floors. We questioned the distance and he claimed those were the only available rooms. We later found neither of us had guests in the adjacent rooms next to our assigned room. Inconvenience aside, it seemed not only inconsiderate to do that to guests traveling together, but it was also a safety factor.
2) the hotel computers for guest use should be limited to use for travel needs such as airline check-in, etc. and staff should address people who cause a back up of guests waiting to take care of business when other guests are gaming or using facebook. Definitely no children should be using it as a toy.

Overall a decent place to stay and hopefully the renovations move forward to improve the function and atmosphere of the property.

Room Tip: away from freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di7740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate that the hotel met your expectations from photos and other reviews. We agree the size of the room was surprisingly large and that they are clean. Also it's nice to read that you thought A/C was not an issue.

Regarding the 2 issues with management that we need to address. First, w e do take our guest service very seriously and met with individual and had a counseling session. Second, the computer is for all guest and we do not tell what they can or cannot do when using them. We would like to believe that guest will use common sense and courtesy to realize that they are for all guest. Unfortunately not all guest apparently demonstrate that, but we will not police the computer usage. However, if a guest is monopolizing a computer we will make every effort to assist the guest that needs information off a computer.

Yes we are continuing to move forward with our renovations as we just we did finished lobby floors and are going to update our Hospitality Room for breakfast.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 596 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

While Marin weather is normally cool, it was hot while we were there and the room was really hot since there is no AC. The beds are soft, great if you like that but way too soft for us. We had to open all of the windows to cool down but then it was really noisy. Also, the shower drain was very slow. It's always gross to stand in the shower with water covering your feet.

The staff was very good. We needed a new towel and then the safe battery died. They fixed both quickly and with a smile.

Bottom line, great location and staff, but a mediocre property. I would stay elsewhere if the temp is going to be above 80.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHemmeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Marin weather is normally cool and of late we have been hit with unusual heat. We do not have any air conditioning and we have been taking notice to your comments and other regarding this topic. We are now in the process to make sure that every room has a evaporative cooler along with the ceiling fans and the two portable box fans in the closets. We realize that this is not the end all solution, but we are making every effort to yiou and our other guest more comfortable.

Having the beds too soft, is difficult to adjust as the beds are a year old. Unfortunately we do not have the adjustable sleeping beds, but we do use the premium Serta Perfect Sleeper beds that are very high rated for comfort. We had to open all of the windows to cool down but then it was really noisy. Also, the shower drain was very slow. I

Thank you for letting us know that our staff was very good.

Again thank you for the review and we look forward to having you try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is a conversion from an apartment complex and it is right next to the freeway. The rooms look nice enough and spacious but we were towards the back of the hotel and could hear freeway noise, our windows overlooked the freeway and a parking lot. The bed has cheap sheets, hard mattress and lumpy pillows, I did not get a very good night's sleep. Looks like efforts were made to make rooms look nice but paint job is sloppy (splotches on the floor), cigarette burn on the blanket cover. Room was stuffy, no ac. If you do decide to stay here then ask for a room toward the front and overlooking the central courtyard. This may be a good place for a large family and you are doing your own cooking, there is a pool which was full of kids. It is not good for a romantic getaway (we came to celebrate our anniversary). There are walkable restaurants and shops. There is free breakfast with all the basic stuff you would get a motel 6: make your own waffles, pastries, cereal etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you taking the time to give us your feedback. Yes, this hotel is a conversion from an apartment complex that was transitioned back in the 1960's. You are correct that we are off of the freeway like a lot of hotels. All of rooms do have windows that have back views that overlooks the parking lot. All of our parking spaces surround the hotel. Regarding the bed has cheap sheets, hard mattress and lumpy pillows, we do have new beds and new bedding that is less than a year old. We apologize that you did not get a very good night's sleep.

We have recently remodeled the rooms and we are very positive of changes of the that we have made. Unfortunately, we try very hard to exceed everyone expectations. This time we failed you and with your feedback so we can continue to improve our facility.

Thank you for your endorsement that we are a good place for a large family. Yes we very popular with groups that like to use our kitchens and hang out by the poolside.

Again we respect your opinion and appreciate that you share it. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here for only one night and thought it was quite nice. Was upgraded to a suite which was spacious. This is not the Four Seasons, but everything was clean, functional and faced an interior courtyard. There was nothing about it that seemed objectionable in any way. The price is right and it is in a quiet residential neighborhood. Very good value for the price.

Room Tip: Close to stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We agree with you 100%. We do try to be more than what we are, a value with spacious and clean rooms with friendly staff to all of our guest.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Place was nicely done and spacious for the price since I had a meeting right next door the following day. Unfortunately it was 94 degrees the day I arrived. Rooms do not have AC. The bedroom window opened to the hallway walkway outside so didnt feel safe leaving the window open. Other room had windows, but west facing so it was too hot to open windows until after the sun went down. They have a ceiling fan in the bedroom and a floor fan I found in the closet. At least it cooled down that night so with the fan on I was OK. Not sure why they spent all that money on rennovations but didnt add air. Staff was very pleasant and apologized for the air situation, they had also upgraded me to a one bedroom since they didnt have my reservation on file when I arrived. Great pool and lounge area outside - if you are there with a family and have time for that, and everything was clean despite those issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you think their website looked nice, I've got some swampland in Florida that has your name on it.

Depending upon your room, it could range from mediocre to ok. Renovations are ongoing but far from done.

There are some nice touches. Gas grills are available for those wanting to cook their own dinner. The pool looked acceptable and was equipped with handicapped aides. The facility was also convenient to the shopping center in Corter Madera as well as the Goldengate Ferry in Larkspur.

I probably wouldn't stay here again. Parking was not an issue for us.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west side of the motel away from the din of Hgy 101 which is constant until the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuseac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and realizing that Marin weather is normally cool. We have had some unusual hot weather. We realize rooms can be uncomfortable without air conditioning. We respect what you and others have written regarding our obstacle. What we have recently done is make a purchase of evaporative coolers for each room to help cool the rooms and create and air flow. Using the ceiling fans or adding the portable fans should eliminate a lot of warm air in the rooms. We realize that this might not be the end all solution, but we making every effort to have you and all of our guest have a very comfortable stay when lodging with us.

Thank you for pointing out that the staff was very good and the endorsement that we really are so close to so much.

We look forward to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Marin Suites Hotel based on reviews we saw on this website. Needless to say, we've only been here a couple of hours and we're thinking of leaving already.

We arrived later this afternoon and noticed that parking was very scarce. After getting our room and being informed about the free breakfast and free wifi, we entered our room and noticed it was HOT as HELL! Turning on the air conditioning and it not coming on, we immediately called the Front Desk and was told. ..there is no air conditioning! !! What hotel doesn't offer air conditioning? Especially one named after a "Suite." When I hear the word "Suite", I'm expecting the very best. We were told that there was box fans available in the rooms. ..if needed.

The room itself is alright, the windows don't open completely, the toilet has very low water pressure. ..so I hope you only have to urinate your entire stay. The elevator could be a death trap. If you're claustrophobic. ..DO NOT get on!!! The maintenance date is not clearly posted and if you're a little leary of sudden jumps, you may want to steer clear....definitely not for the faint of heart. Also, if you enjoy free concerts...you're in luck! Several people are playing guitars until the wee hours of the morning.

This place is definitely a work in progress and should be listed as such. It might have potential in the future, but as of April 29, 2014. ..it's not worth your money! Maybe when they're completely finished with the massive amount of renovations that are being conducted, it might be worth checking out.

Would I stay at the Marin "Sweats" Hotel again? Is Donald Sterling a racist? Of course not. ..but to each there own. You have been for warned.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NiveKDBrowN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. Yes, it is very hot outside. It was close to being a record breaking day. We apologize for your discomfort. We usually do not get weather above the nineties here and very fortunate we get the bay breeze and having the Mt. Tamalpais ocean wind in the evening. We do have fans in the rooms and also portable swamp cooler that we could have been brought to you room.

Again, thank you for for your comments and we hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
0.2 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
901 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,560 reviews
5.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range: $138 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing