We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms in an apartment-like dwelling”
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marin Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
La Canada, California
Level 6 Contributor
760 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Nice rooms in an apartment-like dwelling”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place is nice but it does feel like it used to be an apartment buidling that was remodeled into a motel. The rooms are suites, but their floor-plans are exactly like apartment floor-plans. There is a kitchen right off of the living room area, and a bedroom in the back of the place---it definately mirrored an old one-room apartment of mine. The place is situated in a residential neighborhood, right next to a shopping mall and theater.

The rooms are nice and clean. I found the bed to be quite comfy. The floors seem to be a little thin...I could hear the TV from the room below.

I think parking could be a serious problem if the place is full. Empty parking spaces were scarce during our visit. There is a morning breakfast...it was pretty much the standard fare...coffee, fruit, cereal, bread, and a waffle machine.

When checking in, there is no place to drive in front...one must drive into the parking lot on the side of the building and park back there.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that is near the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We agree with your observation, we were once upon a time an apartment building that was turn into a all-suite hotel. This let us offer the most spacious rooms in the area with full living rooms, kitchens and bedrooms. We are located so close to so much in Marin County. We are across the street from a very nice neighborhood that surrounds a pond.We are also next to a movie theater, Corte Madera Town Center and Village with the best shopping and restaurants that the North Bay has to offer.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and happy that you tried our complimentary continental breakfast. Regarding parking, we are nearing the completion of our remodeling, this will open up more spaces for our guest. Fortunately, although it can be a challenge to park we always seem to accommodate all of our guest.

We look for to you staying with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    235
    113
    51
    34
See reviews for
278
117
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. I enjoy the amenities they offer and the location best! Some of the rooms have kitchenettes, BBQ grills in the courtyard, year round heated pool and hot tub, and an outdoor lounge area with a fireplace. It is about 20-30 minute drive into the city of SF. It is conveniently located around grocery stores, a movie theater, and a mall. It offers a decent continental breakfast with something for everyone. The staff are all very friendly and truly want to make this a great experience for you. I will be coming back! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyeh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you! We look forward to having you come back every time you come to the area to have fun in San Francisco. We appreciate the feedback regarding our staff and the various amenities. Yes, we agree that we are so close to so much when visiting the Bay area.

Again, thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's clean, plenty of amenities--pool, hot tub, laundry facilities, bathrobes, small fitness room, breakfast and the staff is outstanding. It's close to the ferry if you want to go to SF for touring and don't want to be stuck in traffic. Grocery stores and restaurants are a short walk away. We come at least twice a year because it's in the area where we lived 20 years ago--we rent bicycles and go touring around, visit friends, go to the wine country and just hang out in a 5 star area of the country.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Tamal Vista Avenue are the least noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us when you are in the area. We completely agree that this is five star country and we are so close to so much.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for a total of five nights while visiting San Francisco in December. The Marin Suites is probably a 3 star for decor/amenities, but I would give it four stars for location, convenience to grocery stores, kitchen amenities and room size.
The beds were comfortable and the living room area large. For a family seeing SF on a budget, this is an awesome choice. You have a kitchen with full-size fridge, plenty of room for kids, and a daily breakfast bar that has cereal, fruit.
The pool looks nice- too cold in December for us, but we saw some families swimming! In warmer months, the courtyard seating and outdoor spaces would be more inviting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lichenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Yes, we agree that we really are so close to so much in the San Francisco area. We are working on the decor in the rooms to exceed your expectations of a 3 star hotel and we hope that you will stay with us again and see the changes that we are doing with our rooms.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again,. You and the family can enjoy the pool area on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at this property. We have 2 dogs and this is a pet friendly property so it works great for us. Our last stay was about 3-4 years ago. Since that time they have totally refurbished the rooms and grounds. It was very nice, and while it's not the Ritz I stll gave it a high rating for, the cleanliness, amenities such as nice bathrobes, the size and comfort of our suite, and the refurbished grounds. We live in Napa but have many friends and therefore social obligations so we are in Marin a lot. When we don't stay with friends and want to bring our furry children we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your kind feedback. It's nice to see that our guest return and notice right away all the upgrades we have done with the hotel. Yes, we are not the Ritz, but we do want you have the comfort and service that you do expect.

Again, thank you for the acknowledgement and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Luxurious suite with all amenities ie bathrobes, full kitchen,dining room,living room, luxurious bedroom.
Great hot breakfast including upscale items ie tazo tea, waffles with low calorie syrup, eggs, great baked goods.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate that you enjoyed many of the features of the hotel. It's our pleasure that we met and exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to having you back...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our second stay was just as good as the 1st. One stay in summer and one in winter. From the informative clerk, Frances, at the front desk to the knowledgeable maint. staff this hotel is very guest friendly. Clean. Many of the rooms have just been redone. Has it all - a very comprehensive continental breakfast, adequate gym, heated pool, hot tub, Wi-Fi, etc.
We can highly recommend ..

Room Tip: Rooms in the back wing are quieter in the Summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We take safety very seriously and that all of our guest feel secure when staying with us. We appreciate that you pointed this very important observation with your review.

Our team works at exceeding your expectations. It is very rewarding to read that they did.

We look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
0.2 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
848 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
552 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
5.2 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Property: Marin Suites Hotel
Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing