We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would Like To Have Stayed Longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marin Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would Like To Have Stayed Longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The trip was a short weekend with a late arrival and an early departure. We had a 2 room suite for 3 people. The room was spacious. It would have been nice if the smaller room had an area to hang garments. The location is convenient for the areas we needed to visit. We are looking to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rgsheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We wish you could have stayed longer to enjoy the hotel. Thank you for promoting our 2 bedroom suites. Very unique for a hotel to have two sleeping rooms with a living room. We are currently working on putting an armoire to hang clothing in the room you described. We do look forward to having you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    215
    103
    51
    30
See reviews for
255
108
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes, it's not the Ritz, but for basically a one bedroom apartment the price is right. I usually request a third floor unit on the side away from the movie theater, so no one overhead, many have been remodeled (they've been in the middle of it for the past months), and the rooms are clean. The beds are comfortable and I've never had a problem with bed bugs. The breakfast is pretty basic, but it's an included perk. I have family and friends in Mill Valley, Sausalito, Fairfax and SF, so it's very central to all those locations. Again, good value for the money - you've got a separate bedroom, living room, dining area and full (but very basic) kitchen for the price (or close to it) of a regular hotel room. Close to a major shopping center and right next door to a good restaurant (Brick and Bottle) and nice bookstore. If you need full service, you might look elsewhere, but if you enjoy a little self-sufficiency and more room for the buck, this could be your place. No A/C, so it can get a bit warm in the summer. Minimal, but very nice staff. I stay here regularly and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. It's guest like you that that make my job a little easier. We agree with your testimonial. We are not the Ritz. However, we are working to improve our service like 5 star hotel. We are great value for the dollar in Marin County and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Marin Suites Hotel was an old facility that has been remodeled to make it as nice as possible. The room was very spacious with a kitchen/dining area in addition to the sleeping area. The pool area is attractive and the "Sanctuary Area" for reading or enjoying the fireplace was an excellent perk. The front desk person was very efficient an courteous.

On the down side, the hotel is right next to the freeway so there is some noise, which is not too bad if you keep the windows closed. We also had trouble with our heating unit not working.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_B52033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2016
We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.

We are and will continue to improve on our guest experience with feedback like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

For a first time trip to SF, this was the perfect place to stay: it is a 20 min drive to Muir Woods and beautiful drives. It is minutes from the marina, where you can catch the ferry into Pier 1- that takes about 30 mins, giving a great view of the bay along the way. Great restos close by, and the suites were big and clean, if not a little worn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLG20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time with your review and sharing your experience.

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for a "girls getaway", this was our first stop on our trip. Was so surprise to see the beautiful pool & cabaña are was so welcoming! Jose & Louie were very attentive to all of our requests. Even finding fuel to light the gas fireplace outside! Really set a nice spa like tone to our night. The room was huge! With all new furniture and seating area. The only negative I have was the motion light in the kitchenette wouldn't stay on long enough, we would have to reset it several times just to get a quick bite! But all in all it was very relaxing & the breakfast in morning was great too!

Room Tip: Request one away from the hwy, sorta noisy if you open the windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laloca82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time with your review and sharing your experience.

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were a family of three and stayed in a two bedroom suite. It was the only hotel near Sausalito that could accommodate our party without paying for two rooms. I think the price was little high for the quality of the hotel and room. The room was a mix of very old with some updates. All of the outlets except for the kitchen were only two prong. I could not plug in my computer in any of the bedrooms. The room smelled terrible. I actually went to the Rite Aid and bought some air freshener for our stay. It was an odd smell of chemicals and plastic. I think it might have been the new flooring in the kitchen. There was as a small sign in the kitchen that housekeeping does not do kitchen cleaning, but they gave us nothing to do our dishes with as far as dishtowels or dishcloths. One of the bedroom doors was falling apart. The veneer panel was separating from the door and caused problems when trying to open and close it. This is a very simple and inexpensive maintenance issue and I'm not sure why they just didn't replace the door. The beds were comfortable and the bedding crisp and clean, with plenty of great pillows. No remote for the TV and had to call the desk to get one. The first one they brought didn't work, the second one all the buttons stuck. I gave up after that. The fans had a layer of visible dust on all the blades. It made the room feel dirty. Our bedrooms faced the highway, so was a little noisy. The sofa was stained and old. The living room could use a couple of sitting chairs, it was large enough. The only option was to sit on the dirty sofa. I didn't even want to sit on it. Could have used more counter space in the bathroom. I didn't go to the breakfast but my two 21 old kids did every morning. They said it was good. They also had positive things to say about the courtyard area. It was fixed up very nicely with outdoor furniture, cabanas, heated pool, hot tub, etc. Other positives were the shopping centers very close by with nice restaurants and close to the Larkspur Ferry that we took over to SFO for the day. Sausalito just a few miles down the highway. We took two days trips, one to Napa and one to Santa Cruz, the hotel was a good central point those side trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time with your review and sharing your experience.

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Overall, a good little hotel, in a great location. The rooms were clean. The beds were a little soft, but good. The only thing that was bad, was there is no air conditioning in the room. Luckily, the temperature during the night was cool. Overall, a good hotel for the area. Close to shopping and other places such as Mill Valley and Sausaulito.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wormboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time with your review and sharing your experience.

We apologize for the delay. As the Director of Sales, it is very important that I follow up and read all of our reviews. We realize you have choices when choosing a hotel. We appreciate having the opportunity to be your lodging partner when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Property: Marin Suites Hotel
Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing