We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family option close to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent family option close to the city”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Apart from initial problems finding the hotel and then first impressions from the outside being that it looked like a prison compound, this turned out to be a surprisingly good hotel. Our room was stylishly decorated and similar to rooms in 5 star establishments - obviously without the same amenities, but the overall look and feel was fresh and modern. Room is equipped with a fridge and coffee maker. Air conditioning worked well, though being close to San Francisco we didn't need it on much. We were surprised to find our room had a balcony but at the same time annoyed that every time we tried to open the sliding door, the screen fell off and we had to replace on the runners.

Decent shower and two sinks, one in bathroom and one opposite wardrobe.
Internet worked well and We had no problem with noise which others report.

The pool was huge and seemed really clean. Half is for lap swimming and half for free swims. Towels are supplied and there is also a changing room with showers and lockers. The hotel supplies lots of swimming aids, floats, noodles etc and the pool has a basketball Also in the pool,area are a decent sized hot tub, shuffle board, table tennis, mini golf and a basketball hoop.

We were disappointed to get a second floor room as we had a lot of luggage and there are no lifts. We were told that the hotel was full and there was nothing they could do. That was only a minor complaint though. On checking out I was told we had been given a complimentary upgrade so don't know how our room would compare to the standard ones.

Yes, the hotel is close to a shopping centre but you have to cross the 101 to get there so is not walking distance!! On the plus side, the shopping centre has a cheesecake factory where we had two fab dinners.

We didn't take the shuttle to the Larkspur ferry but should have done as was difficult to find a parking spot mid- morning.

So overall better than your average best western and, if you're looking for somewhere to stay near SF which is not affected by the bay area fog and you don't mind being out of the city at night this is a good option.

Room Tip: The ones surrounding the garden and pool looked nicer. Ask for a first floor room if you have lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raccat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    301
    92
    28
    24
See reviews for
312
241
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River B.C.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

During our road trip down the Cal Coast we had the pleasure of stopping in Corte Madera ending up at Best Western Plus. Our plan was to stay close to the city and commute by car during our stay. We had the Pleasure of meeting Frankie at the reception desk .As there is no restaurant at BW Plus Frankie advised us that there was an Italian Rest in the Mall across the street (best meal I have ever eaten ) .Because of her advice we looked to Her as our advisor for other issues of concern . With Her advice we stayed 3 nights and make use of their shuttle to take us to the Ferry to San Francisco . We toured the surrounding areas that She suggested and had a most enjoyable stay. For anyone wanting to see San Fran ,Alcatraz , etc. without fighting the city traffic, I highly recommend utilize the ferry and the Hop and Go busses. GREAT EXPERIENCE . THANKS FRANKIE(Employee of the Year) and the rest of the staff . Jacquie & Merv Belanko Campbell River, British Columbia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis and the staff is very friendly and always willing to help.......I stay in the deluxe rooms which have the pillow top type of bed and they are very comfortable. the staff is excellent and the grounds are always clean and well taken care of............I highly recommned this hotel if staying in the area.........!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antioch, ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a event ending late at night in Sausalito; and, after pricing hotels in Sausalito, we moved 6 miles north to the Corte Madera Inn and saved a lot of money. It was a good decision. Our room was spacious and comfortable with king size bed and balcony and very clean and quiet. The bathroom was small. The breakfast buffet, included in the price, was adequate but not memorable. We saw several attractions aimed at families, including a pool, putting green, garden courtyard. The Inn is centrally located--a short drive from Larkspur Ferry, Golden Gate Bridge, Muir Woods, Pt Reyes National Seashore. There's a shopping center with cafes and supermarket across the street. It would make a good base for exploring both San Francisco and Marin.

Room Tip: The inn has two stories and no elevator. Do not leave valuables in cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockys_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pleasant motel to stay at with friendly service and nearby dining/shopping. Close to the city, so is also in a convenient local. They also provide complimentary shuttle service to adn from the Larkspur Ferry terminal (catch the ferry to nearby San Francisco and/or ATT Park for a Giants baseball game.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've stayed her previously and enjoyed the pool and overall experience, but this trip was very disapointing. I had to change rooms there times in the midst of participating in a conference for lack of internet, broken door missing plate letting in cold air and light, dirty room, highway noise ... the list goes on. I just came back to my third room that I received in an unclean condition last night, and as of 3pm it still hasn't been cleaned or made up. Staff tries to be nice but they are obviously overwhelmed and the facility needs updating. Staying here with all these problems limited my ability to participate in the conference I came for and has impacted my trip. I would not stay in this hotel if you need to be in a reliable, quiet place to attend to work. A real crap shoot as to what kind of experience you'll have. Wish I had stayed elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank trishthedish100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redporsche, General Manager at Best Western Corte Madera Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest, please accept our most sincere apologies for the problems you experienced during your stay. We are very sorry that we did not meet your ex[ectations and very much appreciate your feed back. Thank you again, Bill Blackburn general Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The reception area was pleasant and staff were helpful - easy check in - rooms were old fashioned in decor and a bit musty - however they were exceptionally well equipped and very clean - beds were comfy - breakfast was in the adjacent diner and was average - free shuttle to ferry was a bonus and very handy indeed- restaurants in immediate vicinity were very good

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
0.2 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
575 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
5.1 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Corte Madera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Corte Madera Inn

Property: Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Address: 56 Madera Blvd, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Corte Madera Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort style property just 7 miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco. 75' heated Junior Olympic size pool. 2 spas, in-house masseuse, shuffleboard, ping pong, putting green. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops.Free shuttle to Larkspur-SF ferry and Marin Airporter. Three major shopping centers close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Corte Madera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Hotel Corte Madera
Best Western Corte Madera Inn Marin County, CA
Corte Madera Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing