We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with close proximity to San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with close proximity to San Francisco”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Excellent service at the front desk. Room a good size, clean, fresh linens/towels. Loved the way our unit had an entry door with no windows on that side of unit so no parking area noise but on the other wall was a window and another door to small patio with table and chairs overlooking large pool, hottub,shuffleboard, mini golf barbeque area. Good breakfast delivered to room at time frame requested. Pity you only end up with one cup of coffee served that way though you could make more in your room if you wanted to. Of course you have to tip for delivery. Liked the shuttle to Larkspur ferry, also pick up there but did feel perhaps we'd overused the service by the third day - free service but obviously a tip involved here too. The location of this hotel itself is lovely across from Town Centre mall which is so nice. The ferry ride is about 30 minutes so you do have to build in travel time to SF but I wouldn't hesitate to do this again.

Room Tip: Liked the ground floor unit nearer the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    301
    92
    28
    24
See reviews for
312
241
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Corte Madera Inn is close to the coast and within walking distance of the Corte Madera Town Centre mall. That's why I chose it for my family's annual day trip to either Muir Beach or Stinson.

My family of 6 (husband, 2 young children and parents) were comfortable in one of the 2-bedroom suites in the garden wing. The rooms were nicely furnished with modern decor, large flat screen TVs and a small refrigerator. Note that the suite is only 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom (no living area). There was a spa in the garden wing.

In the main courtyard of the hotel there's a fairly large lap pool with picnic tables, a small play structure for young kids, a putting green and a separate building for the fitness equipment. The rooms around the courtyard had small patios, some with rocking chairs.

The inn didn't have a restaurant but Max's Cafe was on the premises and the continental breakfast basket was served like room service in the morning. Breakfast included coffee, small juice, a couple of muffins, low fat yogurt with granola and fruit. We enjoyed this but make sure you order it the night before by 11pm or you may get it quite late. We forgot to order it so we made a trip to the front office to ask. They very willingly complied but the baskets (they gave us 3 baskets!) arrived mid-morning which made my kids a little grumpy.

Location-wise, the Corte Madera Inn is right off of highway 101. We didn't hear the traffic and road noise inside our room, but it's noticeable when you're walking around. The inn is across the street from the mall, however, which was great for us since we like to eat at Pacific Catch Grille and California Pizza Kitchen. There's also an Il Fornaio as well as a Safeway if you just want to pick up a few grocery items.

I'll book here again the next time we're headed to the coast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailmanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I have stayed at the Corte Madera Inn many times over the last few years while visiting family and friends, and I always come back. It is a throw back to the days when motels were actually fun. Big outdoor pool, beautiful garden, and friendly staff. I recommend this to anyone looking for a nice relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't get the last room on the end close to the freeway, its noisy. Other than that the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bllngrsll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

From the moment we arrived it was perfect. The greeting was incredible after a 9 hour drive.
The room was everything we had hoped. We had a room on the second floor facing the play area and pool. The outdoor pool is huge and very well kept. The room was big and clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. It looks like the room was renovated recently, but not sure. The window opened wide which was nice with the cool nights. The hotel is right off the ramp from the interstate but we did not hear a sound. There is an outdoor gas fireplace that they run at night surrounded by nice comfortable chairs right next to the pool a very nice place to unwind at night. There are rooms with balconies but our room was a bigger room without a balcony, an option that you might consider when booking.
Right across the street is a safeway(grocery store) and a village square. This square has many restaurants including a counter burger restaurant, awesome place for a burger, all natural products. Most of the places have an outdoor seating area, very cool.
We loved walking across the street and grabbing a bite to eat.
Truly one of the best places we stayed at on our two week drive down the coast. I honestly don't have one bad thing to say about the place, it was a perfect stay! We loved every second of it. We noticed there was a mixture of people at the pool, families, teenagers, young and old people, once again it was just a great comfortable experience.
We went to San Fran every day, which was the purpose of our trip. They have a free shuttle to the ferry and the ferry is a high speed, 49mph to San Fran. The price of the ferry is 8.50 each way per person. When you arrive back from the city on the ferry you give the hotel a call and they will pick you up. The ferry ride was very cool, it is very modern. We like to sit outside and the ferry does have seats in the back of the boat but one word of caution be very selective on your seat or you will most likely get wet. There is a bike rack on the back of the boat and there are four seats right in front of it, two on each side. Those are your best bet. You do pass San Quentin on the way and you come within view of Bay bridge, golden gate and Alcatraz. They have washrooms on the ferry and on the docks, at both sides. You do arrive at pier 1 in san fran and Fishermans Warf is about pier 39, it is a good,safe walk, but what isn't a walk in san fran. Pier 1 has some very cool shops and one of the best coffee shops that I have visited. I have had many of espresso macchiato's and this one was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grinandbearit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redporsche, General Manager at Best Western Corte Madera Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences during your stay at our Inn. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of what makes Corte Madera and San Francisco so unique. We look forward to serving you again in the near future! Bill Blackburn, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is close to San Francisco, but much better value than the city-centre hotels. We had a king room, which was pleasantly spacious, with coffee-maker & fridge, and a patio with 2 chairs overlooking the large pool. There is a good restaurant adjacent, and a few excellent restaurants (Italian, sea-food) in the shopping centre just across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We came to San Francisco from Australia for medical treatment and stayed a week at the Corte Madera for a week. As we didn't have a car we relied on the free shuttle which took us to and from the ferry terminal and to the Airporter bus. This was a great service and we just had to call the hotel when we arrived at the ferry terminal and the shuttle would arrive to collect us - a great service.
The room was spacious and comfortable and a light breakfast could be ordered and delivered right to the room. The free wifi internet connection was great for keeping in touch with friends and planning where to go sightseeing. The hotel is within easy walking distance from two shopping centres with a selection of high quality shops and restaurants. On our last day the front desk staff looked after our luggage until we returned and then took us to the bus depot to return to the airport. For anyone wanting a good hotel at a reasonable price with a friendly helpful staff we would recommend the Corte Madera.

Room Tip: We recommend a room overlooking the pool as this has a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ipalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed here two different nights during a recent trip to Marin County. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable, and the breakfast is great. You get fruit, a muffin, juice, yogurt and coffee delivered to your room. It is a wonderful way to start the day. It is a nice pool, a fitness center, and is located across the street from a shopping center with stores and nice restaurants. I plan to stay here again on future trips.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
0.2 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
575 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
5.1 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Corte Madera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Corte Madera Inn

Property: Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Address: 56 Madera Blvd, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Corte Madera Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort style property just 7 miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco. 75' heated Junior Olympic size pool. 2 spas, in-house masseuse, shuffleboard, ping pong, putting green. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops.Free shuttle to Larkspur-SF ferry and Marin Airporter. Three major shopping centers close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Corte Madera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Hotel Corte Madera
Best Western Corte Madera Inn Marin County, CA
Corte Madera Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing