We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No freshly cleaned rooms!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No freshly cleaned rooms!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel, where the bedsheets don't get changed after the last guests --> you found it.
We stayed here for two nights in two different rooms and both times there were hair and crumbs in our beds and dont get me started on the bathroom.
The sink hasnt even been wiped down, neither has the shower. The bottom part of the shower is completely black.

Honestly? I think the owner is the only one cleaning. We saw him do the laundry (bedsheets and towels) in the garage and he lives right next to the office with his children. Nothing wrong with that, but all together it's just weird!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudrun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    1
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I actually stayed at this hotel for 5 days when I started a new job in the area, Dec. 1998. I still remember how horrible & creepy it was. I was alone and didn't always feel entirely safe in the room but I needed a cheap place to stay while I was looking for a place to live. Everything looked run down and grimy. I would only show up to the room after dark in order to sleep after a very long day of work, and apartment hunting. At least it had a TV so I could try and relax. I felt vulnerable there because it was the ground floor, close to the street.

One morning I woke up just before sunrise, but still had my head on the pillow. I was trying to get back to sleep when I felt like someone was standing next to the bed, right near me. I didn't see anyone there but I swear I felt something touch my hair, and lift it up! I bolted awake, turned all of the lights on, and TV, and got ready super early so I didn't have to stay in that room. I was totally freaked out and checked out the following day.

I always remembered that hotel and looked it up to see if anyone else experienced ghosts there. I saw at least one reviewer think it was creepy, and YES this hotel is very creepy.
It was frustrating that the front desk wasn't very helpful. Don't bother staying here.

Room Tip: don't stay here, it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twilight26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corte Madera hotels

Nevada City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The only motel open after six hours of driving. The proprietor refused to speak English and set us up in the room above the office. On first inspection the room looked as if it had been freshly painted. Upon second inspection an hour later too tired to leave, we checked the windows to find no locks and or broken locks. The window over looking the drive way was broken and the latch ripped completely of . When we called down to the office we were told to put a hanger in it. Ok... well, the second bedroom window latch was also broken and to top it off the ladder for the roof was propped up against the window screen. Another call and the same . When we walked down to get our money back we were refused, the manager said that we had been in there too long to deserve a refund (suddenly he could speak English)..... Well we were too tired to drive away so wee stripped the beds and draped the windows with the covers and put every stick of furniture in the window path. The next morning .....When we checked out the bathroom there was grey mold in the shower and the floor was black with something that looked like tar. The sink was filled with what appeared to be paint and cleaning debris.
The Hotel from hell was a laughing joke for the rest of the weekend. We drove down the road the next day and stayed at the Best Western paid twice as much and believe me it was dang worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purplepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

The first thing we noticed when entering the room was the smell: a combination of sewage or moth balls covering up something possibly decomposing. The only lamp in the sleeping area had no lampshade, just a naked bulb, with bizarre red stains all over it. Much of the furniture looked like it had been thrown around a lot. Most alarming: there was no bolt on the door and signs of a struggle with the door, possibly smashed or forced open with a crowbar, which was "fixed" with bright blue electrical tape. There was a bizarre yellow glare from outside lights that filled the room giving it a malarial-like feel and the grating on the heater was corroding with a brown substance. We didn't really make it into the "kitchen" which was disturbingly grimy and would have been the perfect place for a murder scene. The entire place seemed to be covered in dirt from the 70s and the toilet lunged forward when I sat on it. The cat immediately began hissing at the underside of the bed the minute she was removed from her carrier (we are just considering "a mouse" for piece of mind). We took the hint, and literally ran out of there within 15 minutes! It was worth it for us to not even argue about getting our money back, we just wanted out of there!

NOTE: This is not overly exagerated to be funny. THIS IS ALL TRUE! We feel an obligation to tell people do not stay here unless you are location shooting for a horror film. THE ABSOLUTE WORST "INN" EXPERIENCE WE'VE EVER HAD!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The creepy vibe
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank minniemoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We were stunned when we drove up and saw a building about to fall down. We didn't feel safe staying there so my husband went inside to cancel our reservation. Woman didn't (or wouldn't) speak English and tried to register him. We left and drove back home. We booked through the Entertainment Book travel site. When we called to complain they said that we'd booked a one star motel, what did we expect. So like the other reviewer we are fighting to get out money back. Also, the travel group told my husband that the motel people said we did stay there. We didn't, we drove home to Sacramento and got home exhausted at midnight.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

This hotel needs to be shut down.

The upstairs plywood walkway was flimsy and slanted. It had holes in it and felt like it was going to collapse. In the room, the shower enclosure was peeling completely off the wall because of mold growth behind it. There were holes in the stained walls and ceiling and light fixtures. The furnitrure was dingy. The toilet turned out to be clogged from the beginning and overlowed on the first flush. It smelled like the toilet probably overflowed regularly. The windows in the room didn't latch and the door did not have a deadbolt or chain. This was disturbing given that it was such a dilapidated place.

At first, we decided to tough it out for the first night of our two night reservation because we were so tired from traveling, had no idea where else we could go, and hadn't become fully aware of all the problems. But upon arrival, we immediately canceled our second night and received authorization from Expedia and the hotel to waive cancellation fees. When my credit card statement arrived the following month I found I was not only charged for the horrifying night we spent, but for the night after we left as well. When I contacted Expedia, they renigged on the cancellation and I am currently battling with them over the charge. It remains to be seen how it will be resolved.

Please avoid this accommodation.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It was so dilapidated
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid it.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kbrouwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
0.6 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
2.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
1.8 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
2.6 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Property: Budget Inn
Address: 706 Meadowsweet Dr, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1717
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing