We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Brunch and Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Corte Madera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Paradise Dr.
Transit: Golden Gate Transit
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the annual Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2002.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for Brunch and Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

IL Fornaio of Corte Madera is a good restaurant for brunch. It has a variety of selectios to choose from. Their Eggs Benedict is particularly good and is made with their own version of sauce which is lighter and tastier than the Hollandaise sauce that usually comes with Eggs Benedict.
The dinner menu is mostly Italian, but there is also other fare, with a very good selection of pizza.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 37oldglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    44
    17
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Expected a better experience from the reviews we had read. Service was slow, and it wasn't particularly busy, also wait staff not particularly friendly, in fact quite unattentive, especially as we were there for my birthday! Food was average but over priced, we requested a particular wine (that was on their list) but only wanted 2 glasses, waitress was very persistent in getting us to have their "special", agreed to try it, they didn't offer a sample taste, just brought 2 glasses, on tasting it we didn't like it so requested our first choice, but were told we would be charged for both wines!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb3274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Take out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Friendly staff, fast delivery, ubiquitous food.............................................................

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best happy hour deal ever: Margarita Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is really worth writing about, because the Margarita pizza here is already one of my favorites in the Bay area. But from 4:30 to 6:30 pm, it is priced at only $6 at the bar. This is a truly great value and great taste. They have drinks pricing also. Take advantage of this super deal, and it is right off the freeway in the Town Center.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was expecting a lot more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

On our final evening before a Yosemite road trip we chose to try an Italian restaurant that had pretty decent reviews on TA.
We were not at all impressed with this restaurant. Business was steady but not overwhelming for the staff so we felt our party of 6 should not be a challenge. Service was slow and unattentive and the food very unimpressive for the price. Even a Caprese salad was disappointing with COLD store bought unripened tomatoes and tasteless mozzarella. ...basil was dried also. My seafood scampi was a 1 on the scale with 5 the tops. Linguine was tasteless the clams the size if my thumbnail !! Should not have been harvested this year! Lasagna had no taste....Bolognese was cold and unseasoned..... Honestly I am a superior cook to what they tried here. If you wouldn't serve it to your family why charge the public
for it!
There's got to be GOOD Italian food in this area somewhere? ??

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaddyG1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Corte Madera, Marin County
Corte Madera, Marin County
 
Corte Madera, Marin County
Corte Madera, Marin County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing