We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hate to have to say it, but it was a bad experience...”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Corte Madera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Paradise Dr.
Transit: Golden Gate Transit
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the annual Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2002.
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I hate to have to say it, but it was a bad experience...”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently returned from a trip back to my old stomping grounds - Marin County. Dining at Il Fornaio was a priority on my "must do" list while there. I used to dine there frequently, as well as other Il Fornaio restaurants in CA and WA. I have always loved and raved about the food, the service, the ambience. But my last visit was a huge disappointment. The service was terrible, and the food and drinks were not any better. I can only hope it was just an off-day because I've always considered Il Fornaio one of my favorite restaurants. I will go back. I hope I won't be disappointed again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    48
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Contemporary Italian food...”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Service, atmosphere, just good food! Love the salmon and all the salads are delicious. Great place for friends or a business lunch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank crablover1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Consistant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hard to imagine why we go anyplace else. These folks have the best ingredients, superb service and tasty dishes. Superior wine list...and ambiance...after all these years.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheRuppanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Huge Disappointment!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've been to this Il Fornaio many times, usually to meet friends visiting from Palm Springs. The food and service have always been exemplary, and I expected no less time. It was a huge disappointment!

Initially, our server was very attentive; since it was brunch time we ordered Ramos Fizzes, (which were served as frozen "slushees ." No flavor, and very expensive.) Then our server disappeared for a long time before he took our 4 orders. When the food arrived, one member of our party was missing silverware and cheese for his pasta pomodoro. I got up from our table and found our server and requested the missing silverware, cheese, and more olive oil for our bread. He assured me he would deal with my request right away. 20 minutes later, and 4 requests later, I cornered the restaurant manager and made my request again. He dealt with it right away, and was very apologetic. By then the pasta was cold.

One of our guests had a spinach salad which was tasty, but the presentation was not at all inviting. Myself and one other guest had the sautéed spinach with crab cakes and poached eggs. These were delicious, but, again, the presentation was lacking.

For the expense of this meal, it was very disappointing. I'll probably choose a different dining venue when I am in this area again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bbtapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Typical Chain restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Menu is northern Italian with decent presentatiton and quality. It's a chain so you know what to expect going in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Corte Madera, Marin County
 
Corte Madera, Marin County
Corte Madera, Marin County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing