We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Destination for a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Kandaghat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kandaghat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Destination is now owned and managed by Club Mahindra. We visited the Resort in November 2013 along with our family members. The Resort is ideally located bang on the Solan Shimla Highway. Its a huge resort, with lots of natural beauty, I mean flowers all around. There are a number of lawns within the resort, ideal for small family get togethers. Well appointed rooms with all the basic facilities, with a very good view. We were lucky to be there when the club was celebrating their first anniversary and attended the special entertainment programme organised by the staff. In addition to various lawns, the Resort also has colourful fountains, which are a very pleasant sight in the evenings. Very courteous and pleasant staff, with very a very good serving continental, south Indian, and Punjabi cuisines. Overall we fully enjoyed our visit to The Club Mahindra Destination. During the day, one can visit Shimla and Chail, which are approx. 30 Kms. The Resort also has very good Conference and Activity Room.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the eastern side, on the mezzanine level with balcony are the most suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hi Gurinder,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Kandaghat resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience at the resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 593 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

The resort is very well maintained. Landscaping is beautiful. Located at very good location, around 1 hour before Shimla. At entrance you get a very good view of the resort. Now the negative points :-
1. The rooms are very small, and their ambience is not so good, certainly not to the level of Club Mahindra. But then it's ok. Housekeeping was good and prompt in service.
2. Food - First of all the ambience of Buffet restaurant/ Dinning Room was average. You go to Club Mahindra looking for a 5 star hospitality, and such a simple ambience is not acceptable.
Then the taste of food was also quiet average. All the food items were like normal routine, and you could not find anything exotic. Like Dal Makhni (Fav. dish of Delhi, Chandigarh and all the North India) tasted like simple Urad Dal. Non Veg was also not upto the mark.

Overall the resort is very good. Staff is quite cooperative, Good atmosphere. But the above mentioned two points and little bit of finesse can certainly add some more stars....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank La-Agg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you think of mountain resorts do you really think of lush green lawns, ample open play spaces for kids and adults alike, beautiful manicured gardens with every block of rooms ? if not then visit this resort to see all this at one place. The resort is on Kalka -Shimla highway and is very beautiful and far away from the maddening crowd. Its only 22 kms from Shimla so could visit Shimla easily as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is courteous.This resort is a good choice for both who wants to relax and the others who want to remain engaged in one activity or another. The only drawback I noticed was the food prices. Its pretty expensive there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SackyCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Kandaghat. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the ambiance of the resort and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

the resort is one of the most beautiful resorts in north india but the room we got was very very poor and when we asked the receptionist to change my room he spoke to us very rudely. Being a club mahindra member this was very embarrassing for me. Hope that they soon improve their rooms.

Room Tip: rooms are recommended only in C block coz all other blocks are money waste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j0ydeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation, however, having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Given below are my 10 tips (based on my experiences) for getting the most out of this resort
1) Rooms can be categorised into two types i) Excellent Rooms with Average View (New block) & ii) Mediocre rooms with Excellent views.(Old blocks). (we took the first type (Thx Abhilasha)
2) Take a room in the new block if you have senior citizens travelling with you
3) You shall also not take a room in old block if you are averse to climbing hills. However, those missing their workouts due to absence of gym can have the opportunity of an appetizing climb of up to half a km and a digestive descent of the same distance every time you go (and return) for breakfast, lunch, dinner or sightseeing.
4) Recommend playing cricket at the resort cricket ground (We enjoyed thoroughly despite my scoring just 9 runs in 3 innings and dropping 4 catches as wicket keeper (dives not withstanding). and pain in joints (wish the resort had a SPA)
5) You shall not fall in for Travel Agency manager Sanjay’s attempt to sell you a tour to Chail to see the World’s highest (and most idle) Cricket stadium. Suggest instead that you would prefer playing cricket at the resort with him (Sanjay plays good cricket besides ensuring perfect vehicle availability)
6) Kindly note that, “fun dining” is no fun here in spite of having an excellent chef (see my review “The Boring Repetitive Buffet - Fun Dining at CM Kandaghat!” ). You may shun “fun dining’’ after 2 days of stay and visit Soni’s dhaba or Sharma’s Dhaba near Chail for homely and tasty food
7) If you have forgotten to take out cash/valuables from your trouser pockets while giving laundry you shall get a surprise call from Housekeeping in charge saying that money has been found. (It actually happened with us, a truly magical moment”)
8) Enjoy the resort activities , Pradeep Rai is a master of all holiday activities (We enjoyed his AV quiz and also the 6.30 am trek he organized).
9) While overall the staff excels individually, as a team empowerment to think customer and show boundary less behavior is missing (once I had to personally carry food for my son from their a la carte restaurant to their plateau restaurant with at least 6 restaurant/reception staff watching).
10) You shall not ask the resort manager for an appointment as he has no time for meeting customers (for the first time in my 16 CM visits so far, my requests to meet RM did not yield results)
Overall a great resort worth visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ShreyasMalkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hi Shreyas,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. It is wonderful to have read about the points that you have mentioned regarding the resort rooms and the activities our resort offered. Also, your feedback regarding the food has been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information, please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The destination resorts located on Kalka - Shimla highway at Kandaghat , just 20kms before shimla, is a picturesque property on the tip of the hills. And whats unique is that it is situated well off from the hustle -bustle of the shimla city..mornings are just beautiful on the hills and an open property to soak in the natural view is amazing!!

Room Tip: though the resort is situated on the highway , which makes commuting to shimla real easy...it is ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hi,

Thanks a lot for providing us feedback regarding you stay and for your lovely compliments, which we truly appreciate! Glad to know that you liked the view from our resort and enjoyed the experience at resort. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Resort is Beautiful and a must visit for club mahindra members equipped of all the amenities like small golf course , table tennis,pool , internet. lacking of wifi in all the rooms but only in fun zone. Staff is very nice and helpful in every aspect adjusting to customer and food was ok not so good. and quantity of food was low and prices were high.

Room Tip: Go for 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hitesh00013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hi Hitesh,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Pondicherry resort. We are glad you liked our property and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandaghat
0.1 mi away
Resort Eutopia
Resort Eutopia
#3 of 3 in Kandaghat
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 6 in Mashobra
453 reviews
0 mi away
Deventure Shimla Hills
Deventure Shimla Hills
#2 of 3 in Kandaghat
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Aamod
Aamod
#2 of 4 in Shoghi
290 reviews
5 mi away
Woodsmoke Resort and Spa
13.2 mi away
Timber Trail Heights
Timber Trail Heights
#2 of 6 in Parwanoo
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Kandaghat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Kandaghat

Address: Kalka-Shimla Highway | District Solan, Kandaghat 173215, India (Formerly The Destination)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Kandaghat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kandaghat
Price Range: $72 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Kandaghat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Mahindra Kandaghat, is a home away from home,far away from the maddening crowds. If you want to relax and chill and rediscover your relationship, The Club Mahindra Kandaghat Resort is the place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Club Mahindra Kandaghat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing