We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best for Taco Tuesdays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Azul

Costa Azul
Ranked #36 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best for Taco Tuesdays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Costa Azul has a great deal for Taco Tuesdays- 2 street tacos for $3.95. The taco meat is grilled to order on the patio and then you can customize your tacos by adding a bunch of freshly prepared condiments from a table close to the grill. They are absolutely delicious- probably the best I've had. Last spring my husband and I ate there almost every Tuesday. This special is only around for a month or two, so be sure to visit before it goes away. We were there during Happy Hour last night and had 6 tacos, 2 beers and a margarita for about $25. I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJolley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    83
    41
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Our 'Go To' Mexican Food Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We go to Coronado on a regular basis and Costa Azul is the restaurant we go to for great Mexican food with a fun atmosphere. Coronado is such a tourist destination that whenever we have out of town guests, it's where we take them for great food. Go there...you'll like it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeaniej2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice evening meal on a stormy night ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in on a raining evening to get supper. Had a very nice swordfish steak, my wife had an excellent flat iron steak. Staff was ultra friendly and attentive. Lovely atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank davidn343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fast service, convenient, avg food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Well located on Orange Ave in the retail district. Used outside seating area made more comfortable with stand-up heaters to offset cool night air. Once ordered, the food was served very fast-- maybe too fast. My enchiladas were not fully heated. Food quality was okay, not great. Chips and salsa, a good indicator of Mexican restaurants for me, we're also very average. Waitress Megan was nice, though.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ate here 3 days before Xmas so it was pretty busy. The waitress was great and that's about the only thing. When we ordered they told us that they had no potatoes except for fries. Come on really it is peak season and nobody could have gone to the supermarket earlier. They didn't run out they told us they didn't have any so why still have in on the menus ????? When the meal came it out is was ok. The salad was mainly lettuce . We couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mintym00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Azul also viewed

 

Been to Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing