We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but average food and terrible service”
Review of Clubhouse Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Clubhouse Bar & Grill
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view but average food and terrible service”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm probably speaking for 100 people or more that frequent this restaurant but no one has the balls to say it. Management and the service at this place is terrible. I've lived in Coronado for 60 years and most of the restaurants in town have incredible service especially for regulars and locals alike, but there's something about this place that just isn't right and I think the problem is management and the people that work there. I get the feeling they all don't really want to be there and they're put out that they have to wait on you. Its like they just dont give a damn. I've eaten at every restaurant in town and no where else is the service this bad. Every other restaurant in town has great service and offers a warmth and hometown feeling towards the people they serve. This place is missing that and it's a shame the owners don't recognize this and hire a manager who knows what customer service truly is and in return hires a waiting staff that understands this as well. Food is average at best, a few good items on the menu. I wish the City didn't allow the owners to re-up their lease. The City of Coronado really needs to allow a new owner to come in that knows what they're doing and that truly cares about their customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Nado60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    8
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Primed for beef? Best deal on Coronado Island.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Grumpy Dan's Grill in the Coronado Golf Clubhouse serves a prime rib dinner every Thursday and Sunday night that is well worth the drive. For less than $20, it may be the best bargain on the island. Others have commented on the view and the dining room decor, so I'll stay with the dinner. You choose the size -- 10, 12 or 14 ounce, priced from $15.95 for the 10 oz. to $19.95 for the 14 oz. A Caesar salad, parmesan cheese rolls, garlic steamed asparagus, and a baked potato or orange pilaf rice are included. Such a deal!

The beef was cooked to medium-rare perfection, and the sides were equally well prepared.

Why only four stars, instead of five? The service. Much of the serving staff was young, perhaps students earning extra money. There were a few mature, experienced servers, but you saw them only when you ordered. Getting water, the bread basket and a missing setup was an exercise in persistence and patience. Fortunately, the wine is reasonably priced, so you can sip and watch the duffers on the practice green flail away while you wait on the waiters.

Overall, my wife and I highly recommend prime rib night for excellent food and an easy-on-the-budget check.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JTMRPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and dining room”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Although the view is excellent, the dining room is lovely and service is great, the food is just average. No worries about parking though, there's plenty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“VERY NICE BREAKFAST”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here for Father's Day. Just wanted a nice breakfast without paying exorbitant prices for a 'special day' where you couldn't possibly eat all that food to justify the pricing. Food was very good, coffee was hot and the hostess and server were very friendly. We dined on the outside patio, behind the #1 tee. Patio is dog friendly and there were a couple of well behaved four-legged family members with their parents. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank miket439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoxabc
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Uggghhhh...the food has taken a huge dive”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is such a great venue and has been for years. I don't understand why they can't get a better chef or owner for this great location. The food has gone way down hill; it is very bland and unappealing. So many people like to go to the golf course clubhouse...its a huge disappointment they can't do better. They need better quality of food, warm food, trained wait staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Havenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing