We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile...and a killer view!!!”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Orange Ave.
Transit: Metrolink
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service with a smile...and a killer view!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere!!! I sat at the bar and had an amazing experience! The bartender was so kind and attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu. His wine pairing was also fantastic. You have a fabulous view of the water and downtown SD. My one and only complaint...the meatballs were a little tough. Other than that, I highly suggest for dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    205
    84
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Customer Service/Allergy Friendly”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have an allergy to garlic which poses a lot of difficulty in ordering at restaurants. I have never had a restaurant accommodate allergies like this restaurant. The made my salad dressing without garlic. They adjusted my meal as well. They did all this without my urging. They take allergies seriously which is a nice surprise for a change. Great view of downtown San Diego. Consistent good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jagsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Rude hostess. Waitress with attitude. Could not order portion sizes we wanted to avoid wasting food. Room temperature tea served with one glass of ice--no refills. Water drinks ran dry. Had to ask 2 wait staff for bread 3 times before receiving bread. Pasta was dry--very little sauce. Five of us seated at table for 4. Bugs flying around our table/window area--inside. No toilet paper in women's bathroom. We dined Sunday, July 28th, 2013, dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROCKWREN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Rockwren_10,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and give us your feedback from your experience at Il Fornaio. I apologize for the problems you encountered with our host service and indeed with a not very professional food server I would like to assure you that these were isolated incidents and we will take all of the necessary steps to ensure that no one will encounter the same disappointing experience.

Our goal at Il Fornaio is to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests from authentic Italian cuisine to five star services and we are continually looking for ways to perfect our performance. We are deeply sorry for falling short on your expectations

I would appreciate the opportunity to show you our authentic Il Fornaio five star services. Can you please call me on your next visit as I will love to introduce myself to you and personally delivery my apologies for the experience above mentioned.
I will also love to treat you and your four guests to a lunch as our personal guest.
I am looking forward to speaking with you soon.



Sincerely,
Luca Allieri
Il Fornaio Coronado GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A restaurant chain that is well run”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have enjoyed meals in six Il Fornaio locations and they are all different, but with many wonderful dishes. They have regional Italian cuisine that changes plus a regular menu. Wines and food are good values, and service is most often excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Sights, Sounds, and Smells”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The second time I visited this restaurant made me want to come back for more delicious food, the view, and the impromptu serenade. From the patio you have a good view of the water, and, if you're lucky you'll be serenaded by the signing waiter from Italy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGypsy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing