We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, good food, average ambience, very poor service”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Orange Ave.
Transit: Metrolink
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing view, good food, average ambience, very poor service”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you are looking for the best spot on the island concerning the scene view, this is THE place!
The food is pretty good, not what you can find in Italy but something close to it.
The interior is kind of dreary, with a view on the kitchen, I don't really like it.
Service is poor, the waiter asked me the ID when I told it was my friend's bday!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    209
    84
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious cuisine overlooking the water”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Coronado island boasts some of the most dramatic restaurant views in the San Diego area. Il Fornaio commands a dramatic view of the Bay along with serving tasty innovative Italian dishes. The interior of the restaurant is done in beautiful light woods with high ceilings and arches. The specialties of different regions in Italy are regularly highlighted. The Caprese salad was fresh and flavorful. The cannelloni was outstanding! A mixture of sun dried tomatoes, smoked mozzarella, ricotta, spinach, and marinara were absolutely mouth watering.
Equally as delicious was the Capelazzi, ravioli with butternut squash and walnuts, tomato sauce brown butter and sage. The wine list had many reasonably priced choices. Service was attentive without being fussy. This restaurant is a must try on a trip to Coronado island.




tje

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dropped in for the view... luckily stayed for a bite”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had some friends from Poland come to San Diego and I took them to Coronado to catch a wonderful view of the San Diego skyline... Walked them along the pier and I used to have a friend who worked at Il Fornaio... so I walked them in to look around.

As luck would have it, I decided to stop for a moment with them and catch a beer and a few apps. Short and to the point: Great Service, Beautiful Restaurant, Friendly team (from Host, to Bartender, to Server... not a single person that wasn't warm and genuine), GREAT GREAT food... I just sampled their hand made pizzas and the flash fried veggies from their happy hour menu... I am going to have to go back and have a full meal.... the food was PHENOMENAL!

The restaurant is absolutely breath-taking... the big open dining room features one of the best views of the San Diego skyline... and there is such a feeling of refinement and professionalism.

Looking forward to returning sometime soon and sampling the whole menu and wine list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Every had that dinning experience where everything just went so smooth you almost wanted to pinch yourself? This was it.

The server was excellent, attentive even to our young children! The food was delicious and the view lovely. Could not have asked for more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZ4Moi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Il Fornaio Coronado – We won’t be back”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was possibly the most disappointing and bland Italian meal I have experienced in the United States. The venue, which looks attractive online, is in reality a big old barn of a place, devoid of atmosphere, staffed by servers who appeared totally disinterested in their chosen profession.
The menu, while sounding interesting and varied, was in fact a collection of dishes where an excess of garlic replaced culinary creativity and which paid no attention to authenticity of the Italian cuisine it was supposed to represent.
The Minestrone – the waiter informed us – was filled with chunks of garlic, while the Tagliatelle Bolognese which I ordered as a first course was blander than many a re-hydrated packet meal. My chicken was plastered in a cheese sauce so tastless that I didn’t know it was cheese at all and the peppers had no flavour whatsoever.
A glass of what was supposedly Pinio Grigio clearly was not; it tasted like a cheap Sauvignon Blanc or a blend of rather acid young wines.
When we asked for oil and balsamic vinegar dressing on the salad from another waiter, he started a strange performance which was as outlandish as it was patronising. He treated us like children who were not experienced enough to mix the correct proportions and insisted on administering it himself, in his own chosen proportions.
The service matched the level of cuisine; our waiter looked like he would rather be anywhere else than serving us. He went through the motions but couldn't be bothered to offer ground pepper, deliver sugar with my espresso, or even bid us farewell.
This clearly is a restaurant where nobody takes pride in their work, the food is churned out to a set formula without any finesse or style.
The view from this place is good, but there are far better Italian restaurants in the area which we'll dine at next time round; we certainly won’t be back to Il Fornaio.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing