We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, delicious, affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Night & Day Cafe

Night & Day Cafe
Ranked #31 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This is a small diner, that has been in business since 1929, the Esquer family has owned it since 1996, we have 20 seats and the counter surrounds a flat-top grill and vintage hood that was salvaged off a ship more than 100 years old. You watch your found being cooked by one person, depending on what cook you get your food will get to you fast or...not so fast but will always be delicious!. Weekend mornings are the busiest and we are open late, Friday and Saturday Nights till 4am.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, delicious, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stop here, 24-7 food, short order style, the first "wow" experience we've had since we've been here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Coteau, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food - Late Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was constantly searching for a place for a late night meal, other than Denny's or IHOP or McDonald's. Well, finally found one in the form of the Night & Day Cafe! This place is awesome on so many levels! Small cafe type.... seating is at a premium here, so do NOT come here with a large crowd!

Food was amazing! Even the cheese quesadillas and glass of tea was outstanding, and surprisingly filling. Atmosphere is very retro, 1920s-ish type of restaurant. I highly recommend stopping here for a meal if you happen to be in Coronado!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irishman_usa1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoxabc
Level Contributor
207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Darn, wish I could give this a better review!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Have loved going to Night & Day for years. However, this last time there was only one person working and the seats were full! It was the 3rd of July and the owner should have done better than this. Again, it seems like many Coronado restaurants are just out for the buck. The one poor guy working had to take orders, do set up, cook, cashier...everything. It took forever to get served and get out. Too bad. I will most likely go back but, come on....hire more help!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Havenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good food if you have patience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice people but slow. Good food, though, if you have time. We had the chicken chimichanga and fish tacos and they were very good. Waitress seemed new, shy, or disoriented, but was trying. Tiny place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMWpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb Flavors and Presentation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We popped in here for a late weekday lunch and although we had been eating too much Mexican on our SoCal trip, the menu skewed heavily that way so we deferred to the owner/waiter. It took a while to serve, but he was the only one there. He was meticulous in his preparation, plating, and the food was unbelievably flavorful! Sat outside and enjoyed the divine weather and locale. Also about the least expensive meal we ate all week! Bathroom was squeaky clean too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oh_Ignatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Night & Day Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Night & Day Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing