We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed 4 nights with a large group for a wedding. The courtyard was perfect for gathering and visiting, the staff was extremely service oriented, the accommodations were nice, and the location great. I will stay here on my next trip to Coronado Island, mainly due to the service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    111
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
114
89
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week for three nights. We were in town for a friends wedding. Some of the other guests stayed across the street at the Coronado Inn. I felt we made the better choice. Our hotel had ample underground parking, free wi-fi & a wonderful free breakfast buffet.

We arrived early and were offered a room. Unfortunately we were not happy with it's location. Bottom floor, facing the alley, in a corner near the ice machine. Went back to the front desk and the clerk advised us better rooms would be open by 3pm. We were much happier with the second room. Second floor overlooking Orange Street. Traffic noise was not too loud as long as you have the air conditioner on and window shut.

Every staff member I met was very pleasant. The ladies working the breakfast buffet did a great job. Eggs and hashbrowns and a breakfast meat available every day. Cereal, yogurt, pastries also.

The pool was quite small. Only one lounge chair.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mauilover0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I am not sure I would recommend any Best Western again after our experience. After driving for two days to get to San Diego and after spending the day downtown, we checked in to find out that our room was a smoking room. First why do you still have smoking rooms? This is the only hotel I have stayed at in three years that has smoking rooms. Secondly, both my sons have severe asthma and the smoke aggravates is badly. I understand that we should have checked our confirmation when we changed the days we were staying there but maybe your call center should ask those questions. While waiting for a new room we heard Juan at your front desk there tell two other people the same thing he told us, “Sorry but it you make reservations through website or call center, always double check the confirmation.” Juan at the front desk was awesome and he would be the one of the only reasons we would return. He was able to find us another room upgraded room and not charge us anymore. We were also awakened the last night of our stay at 11PM at night because of YOUR billing errors associated with the room change. Not fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Pierce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Can't beat it at this price. Clean rooms in a great location. Within walking distance of everything. Restaurants galore all within 2 blocks. Dont even rent a car when coming here. Take a shuttle from the airport and rent a bike. This hotel and the Island was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a Best Western, so if you want true luxury, try the Del Coronado! But overall it's a very nice hotel that appears to be recently updated. As a family of five we stayed comfortably in a room with 2 queen beds. The pool is very small, but worked well for our littlest one. Great breakfast (again, nothing deluxe, but totally adequate). Within walking distance of the Coronado Wharf and park with great views of downtown San Diego. Longer walk to center of town, but easy drive. Overall, great for the price!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

large modern room, very clean. great amenities. enjoyed the hot full breakfast each am. staff were friendly and helpful. location within walking distance to several restaurants, liquor, grocery and the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint charles, illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were in town for my daughter's wedding, and many of our guests stayed at this location with us. The rooms were spacious and nicely furnished. The free breakfast was excellent, with an array of hot and cold entrees - way beyond the bagels and cereals of many chains. They also have an open courtyard, which we used as a meeting point throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank garyh740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
1.0 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#7 of 17 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#4 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing